Assam Assembly Elections 2021
Opinion  /  Published 01.06.21

The road ahead for Assam

One of the biggest crises confronting the state is the twin disaster of flood and riverbank erosion...
By Mitul Baruah

Opinion  /  Published 14.05.21

Steady rise: Himanta Biswa Sarma becomes Assam CM

Readers' Speak: Israel-Palestine conflict...
By The Telegraph

North East  /  Published 11.05.21

Sarma to focus on NRC, Covid fight

The BJP leader will continue to pursue the policy of the government on the stalled National Register of Citizens and Covid pandemic...
By Umanand Jaiswal in Guwahati

North East  /  Published 10.05.21

Assam: Himanta fulfils CM dream

The erstwhile Congress satrap replaces Sarbananda Sonowal who helmed the BJP-led government in the state...
By Umanand Jaiswal, our Delhi bureau in Guwahati

North East  /  Published 10.05.21

Sonowal reposes faith in ‘younger brother’

A week after the ruling alliance won the Assembly elections with a clear majority for the second successive term, Sarma was elected as the legislature party leader...
By PTI in Guwahati


North East  /  Published 09.05.21

Sonowal resigns as Assam CM

Himanta Biswa Sarma named new chief minister...
By Our Bureau, Agencies in Guwahati

North East  /  Published 09.05.21

Himanta favoured, Sonowal stays silent

Meeting of the newly elected MLAs will be held in Guwahati on Sunday to elect the leader, who will be sworn in as the next chief minister...
By J.P. Yadav, Umanand Jaiswal in Guwahati, New Delhi

North East  /  Published 08.05.21

Sonowal prioritizes pandemic over post

The Opposition Congress and the Anchalik Gana Morcha have attributed the delay to the intra-party power tussle, putting the BJP leadership in a dilemma...
By Umanand Jaiswal in Guwahati

India  /  Published 05.05.21

BJP weighs Assam CM change

The party along with its allies has returned to power to the state, for a second term albeit with a reduced majority...
By J.P. Yadav in New Delhi

North East  /  Published 03.05.21

BJP retains Assam with cuts

According to the Election Commission, till 11.30pm the ruling alliance of the BJP (59) AGP (9) and the UPPL (6) had won or were ahead in 74 seats...
By Umanand Jaiswal in Guwahati


Download our latest App

to get update on the go...


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.