Election Results 2019
India  /  Published 24.05.19

Pragya hands big defeat to Digvijaya

Senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh, a two-time former chief minister, was defeated by a margin of 3,64,822 votes by terror-accused BJP nominee Pragya Singh Thakur from the prestigious Bhopal seat ...
By Our Special Correspondent in New Delhi

West Bengal  /  Published 24.05.19

Strategy by 'prize catch' Mukul lauded

Mukul Roy — erstwhile No. 2 in Trinamul who joined the BJP in November 2017 — was the star of the day for hundreds of saffron camp workers who were waiting for a “selfie moment” with him.Roy w...
By Sandip Chowdhury and Subhankar Chowdhury in Calcutta

India  /  Published 23.05.19

BSP candidates who protested EVM fraud, win

Two BSP candidates who had protested on May 20 against the alleged replacement of EVMs by government officials to help the BJP and had kept a close vigil have won by margins of over 1 lakh votes.Afzal...
By Piyush Srivastava in Lucknow

West Bengal  /  Published 23.05.19

Triumphant BJP takes all in Darjeeling

The BJP went all guns blazing in Darjeeling, scoring a double-barrel win in the Lok Sabha and Assembly by-elections on the plank of “Gorkha pride”.Raju Bista, the BJP candidate who won the Lok Sab...
By Vivek Chhetri in Darjeeling

India  /  Published 23.05.19

BJP brushes away SP-BSP gathbandhan in UP

The BJP had won or led from 60 of the 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh mid-evening, tallying only 11 fewer than its 2014 score despite coming up against the formidable alliance of the Bahujan Samaj Party and...
By Piyush Srivastava in Lucknow


Business  /  Published 23.05.19

Sensex tops 40000, then falls

The BSE Sensex on Thursday jumped more than 1000 points to hit the magical 40000-mark on a bout of initial euphoria over the general election results but thereafter retreated because of profit-booking...
By Our Special Correspondent in Mumbai

Jharkhand  /  Published 23.05.19

Holiday mood on election result day

The day of the election result became an undeclared holiday for residents of the capital, coal town and steel city who put off all official engagements and remained glued to the TV and mobile phones. ...
By Raj Kumar, Jayesh Thaker and Praduman Choubey in Ranchi

Opinion  /  Published 24.05.19

Modi towers above all parties, including his own

Cometh the hour — a general election — cometh the man — Narendra Modi. There can be no doubt about the fact that the spectacular mandate delivered in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party-led Nat...
By The Editorial Board

India  /  Published 23.05.19

BJP's K Surendran trails by 75905 votes in Pathanamthitta

BJP general secretary in Kerala K Surendran is trailing by 84,462 votes behind Congress' Anto Antony and CPI(M)'s Veena George. One of the closely watched constituencies of Kerala is Pathanamthit...
By The Telegraph

India  /  Published 23.05.19

Karti Chidambaram leads by 137211 votes in Sivaganga

The Sivaganga constituency has been a traditional Congress seat since 1980 with P Chidambaram winning it seven times, including two times from a Congress breakaway faction Tamil Maanila Congress. In 2...
By The Telegraph


Download our latest App

to get update on the go...


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.