Party confident of 2013 poll victory NCP unveils first list of candidates - Party confident of 2013 poll victory

Read more below

  • Published 18.03.12

Shillong, March 17: Former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Agitok Sangma today declared that the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) would be winning the “war in 2013” while announcing the first list of candidates for next year’s battle for Meghalaya.

“We are winning the war in 2013 and we will come to power. The year 2013 belongs to the NCP,” Sangma thundered after inaugurating the party office at Lachumiere here in the presence of Union minister of state for rural development Agatha K. Sangma, leader of the Opposition Conrad K. Sangma and a host of party leaders.

Stating that his party can provide stability to politically fragile Meghalaya, the Tura legislator said, “Meghalaya has suffered because of political instability. It is our party that can provide leadership not only for the present, but also for the future.”

The instability factor in Meghalaya can be gauged by the fact that nearly 30 governments under various chief ministers have ruled the state since 1972.

Except for (late) Capt. Williamson A. Sangma and Salseng C. Marak, no other chief minister has been able to complete a full term of five years in office.

Moreover, the NCP general secretary, who is yet to declare himself as a candidate for the elections, claimed that after the 2013 polls, his “party would come to power on its own”.

“We are strong in Garo Hills, and we are progressing in Khasi and Jaintia Hills. After 1972, 2013 would be the second time where a single party would rule the state.”

Taking a dig at the state Congress party, Sangma said, “People are confused about the Congress because within the party there is the Lapang Congress, Mukul Congress and Prestone Congress. But our party is disciplined, united and far-sighted.”

The NCP general secretary also declared the names of 14 candidates approved by the party high command.

The 14 candidates include Conrad K. Sangma (Selsella), James K. Sangma (Dadengiri), E.C.B. Bamon (Mookaiaw), Omillo K. Sangma (Kharkutta), Timothy D. Shira (Resubelpara), John Manner Marak (Bajengdoba), Nihim D. Shira (Songsak), Desang M. Sangma (Rongjeng), Marcuise N. Marak (Williamnagar), Masonsing Sangma (Baghmara), Phillipole Marak (Chokpot) and Satto Marak (Rongara-Siju).

The other candidates are Renikton Lyngdoh from Mawkyrwat and Setsing Dkhar from Nongstoin. The candidates for the remaining constituencies would be declared in due course of time.