Delay clouds varsities

Employees' protest holds up bifurcation process

By Roshan Kumar
  • Published 26.06.17
Magadh University and (below) Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University out of which Patliputra University and Munger University will be carved out, respectively

The three universities the state government will form by carving out of old universities are unlikely to start operations from the July-August academic session this year.

Patliputra University was to be carved out of Magadh University, Purnea University out of BN Mandal University, Madhepura, and Munger University out of Tilka Manjhi University, Bhagalpur.

More than six months have passed since the announcement of the bifurcation but the state is yet to make any headway.

Last month, the Raj Bhavan completed appointing vice-chancellors and pro-vice-chancellors for 10 universities in consultation with the state government but no VC or pro-VC was appointed for the three varsities. The process of bifurcation of staff from three old universities to the new ones is yet to start.

Manoj Kumar, an undergraduate history student at AN College, said: "We have been hearing about new varsities being set up for more than six months. But the new universities are unlikely to be created by the upcoming academic session."

Manoj said: "As MU is headquartered in Bodhgaya, students have to go to Bodhgaya for all official work, as the extension centre of MU in Patna is not fully functional but the delay in the process confuses the students."

Additional secretary (higher education) K. Senthil Kumar said: "The creation of three universities is under process."

However, sources attributed teaching and non-teaching employees' protest against the bifurcation of old universities to the delay in creation of the new universities.

Amarnath Pathak, the secretary-general of MU non-teaching staff association, said: "We will take legal recourse. The university bifurcation will give away the best colleges with better infrastructure to Patliputra University."

Sources said all three universities will create postgraduate departments and central libraries out of funds given by the University Grants Commission.

An official in the education department said: "The administrative establishment committee set up to oversee the bifurcation of teachers, employees and students from old universities to the new ones is yet to submit its report. Once the committee does so, the division will be carried out. The state is also yet to issue a notification for bifurcation of the three varsities." However, the state cabinet has given its nod for the process.

The 24 colleges of Magadh University located in Patna and Nalanda districts will come under Patliputra University, while 20 in Gaya and other districts will be under Magadh University. Similarly, of 37 constituent colleges of BN Mandal University, Madhepura, 26 in Purnea and Katihar districts will be under Purnea University. Munger University will have 17 colleges in Munger, Lakhisarai and Jamui districts, while Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University will have 12.