regular-article-logo Saturday, 25 May 2024

Taylor Swift’s The Tortured Poets Department is a ‘secret double album’ with 15 extra tracks

The American singer-songwriter’s two-part album, which released on music platforms today, contains a total of 31 songs

Urmi Chakraborty Calcutta Published 19.04.24, 03:26 PM
Taylor Swift during an Eras Tour concert in Cincinnati.

Taylor Swift during an Eras Tour concert in Cincinnati. Instagram

Taylor Swift’s 11th studio album The Tortured Poets Department, which released on music platforms on Friday, features 15 extra songs in addition to the 17 initial tracks, the American pop singer announced on Instagram two hours after the album was dropped.

“15 extra songs. And now the story isn’t mine anymore… it’s all yours,” the singer-songwriter wrote, surprising her fans with the new songs.


“It’s a 2am surprise: The Tortured Poets Department is a secret DOUBLE album. I’d written so much tortured poetry in the past 2 years and wanted to share it all with you, so here’s the second installment of TTPD: The Anthology,” she wrote after the album’s release.

The second part of the new album includes the songs imgonnagetyouback, The Albatross, Chloe or Sam or Sophia or Marcus, How Did it End?, So High School, I Hate it Here, thanK you alMee, I Look in People’s Windows, The Prophecy, Cassandra, Peter, The Bolter, Robin and The Manuscript.

Previously, Swift had announced that two special editions of her album have been named after bonus tracks The Albatross, The Bolter and The Black Dog. While the first two songs feature on the second part of the anthology, the third track belongs to the first part.

The first part includes the songs My Boy Only Breaks His Favourite Toys, I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can), Down Bad, So Long London, But Daddy I Love Him, Fresh Out the Summer, Florida, Guilty as Sin, Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me, Loml, I Can Do It With a Broken Heart, The Alchemy, Clara Bow and the titular track, The Tortured Poets Department.

The music video for the first single from The Tortured Poets Department, Fortnight, featuring rapper Post Malone, will drop in the US at 8pm ET today (5:30 am on April 20 in India).

Featuring 16 new songs and a bonus track, Swift had earlier announced her new album in her acceptance speech at the 66th Annual Grammy Awards this year after receiving the golden gramophone for best pop vocal album for Midnights. Shortly after the live announcement on stage, she took to Instagram and shared the cover of The Tortured Poets Department.

“All’s fair in love and poetry... New album The Tortured Poets Department. Out April 19,” wrote the Lover singer alongside an Instagram carousel featuring the cover of her upcoming album and a short verse.

Meanwhile, Swift’s The Eras Tour has been extended till November this year with new locations across the US and Canada.

Follow us on: