MY KOLKATA EDUGRAPH
ADVERTISEMENT
regular-article-logo Sunday, 01 October 2023

95th Academy Awards: Final voting to begin today, conclude on March 7

Jimmy Kimmel will host this year’s Oscars ceremony, to be held on March 12 at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles

Entertainment Web Desk Calcutta Published 02.03.23, 02:43 PM
Oscar winners are presented with statuettes made of solid bronze and plated in 24-karat gold

Oscar winners are presented with statuettes made of solid bronze and plated in 24-karat gold Getty Images

The final voting for the 95th Academy Awards, the nominations for which were announced on January 24, will begin today at 9am Pacific Time (10.30 pm IST) and conclude on March 7 at 5pm PT (6.30am IST).

The Oscars ceremony will be held on March 12 at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles. Television anchor Jimmy Kimmel will host this year’s edition of the award show.

ADVERTISEMENT

Oscar nominees and winners are chosen by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which has more than 10,000 members at present. The nominees are selected by the members voting for their corresponding branch (actors voting for actors and so on). However, for the best picture category, all members can cast their vote.

The nominations as well as the final voting are conducted through online ballot. For the final round of voting, all categories are open for the members. After the voting closes, the ballots are tabulated by PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).

According to the Academy, “only two partners of PricewaterhouseCoopers know the results until the famous envelopes are opened onstage during the Oscars telecast”.

Follow us on:
ADVERTISEMENT