Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Trinamul MPs who were not renominated

Mamata Banerjee said Subrata Bakshi wanted to opt out in order to work for the party

By The Telegraph in Calcutta
  • Published 13.03.19, 2:42 AM
  • Updated 13.03.19, 2:42 AM
  • a min read
Subrata Bakshi The Telegraph picture

Calcutta South: Subrata Bakshi

Reason: Mamata said Bakshi wanted to opt out in order to work for the party

Cooch Behar: Partha Pratim Ray (won in a 2016 bypoll after sitting MP Renuka Sinha died)

Reason: Alleged role in Trinamul internal feud, especially during panchayat polls. Mamata said if he stayed on in the party, he would be given a suitable role

Krishnagar: Tapas Pal

Reason: Ill health, named in several court cases, politically ineffective for some time, said sources

Ranaghat: Tapas Mandal

Reason: He was excluded to make way for slain MLA Satyajit Biswas’s wife, according to sources

Basirhat: Idris Ali

Reason: Mamata said he would be fielded in Uluberia East Assembly seat

Jadavpur: Sugata Bose

Reason: The chief minister said Bose did not get permission to contest from Harvard University where he teaches

Jhargram: Uma Soren

Reason: Mamata said she was a bright and young one-term MP who wanted to work for the party

Midnapore: Sandhya Roy

Reason: The Trinamul chief said Sandhya wanted work that did not require her to be on the move

Bishnupur: Soumitra Khan

Reason: Expulsion from Trinamul, after which he joined the BJP

Bolpur: Anupam Hazra

Reason: He joined the BJP following expulsion from Trinamul

Bhaichung Bhutia
Bhaichung Bhutia Pabitra Das

TMC candidates who were defeated in 2014 and not fielded again

Darjeeling: Bhaichung Bhutia (no longer in Trinamul)

Raiganj: Pabitra Ranjan Das Munshi

Malda North: Soumitra Roy

Jangipur: Sheikh Nurul Islam

Behrampore: Indranil Sen (now a minister of state in the Mamata cabinet)

Murshidabad: Mohammad Ali

Asansol: Dola Sen (now a Rajya Sabha member)

TMC candidate lost in 2014 but fielded again

Malda South: Moazzem Hossain