Repoll in six Manipur booths - Four booths recorded more than 100% polling, says poll panel

Read more below

  • Published 12.04.14

Imphal, April 11: Repolling will be held tomorrow in six polling booths in the Outer Manipur seat, including four which polled more than 100 per cent.

Keihao Tangkhul polling station in Senapati district of the Outer Manipur constituency has only 426 voters. When the presiding officer of this polling station counted the votes it was found that were 429 votes.

Similarly, Molnoi polling station in Chandel district has 960 voters. But the total votes polled in this polling station turned out to be 961.

“That is not all. Two other polling stations of Kapao and Phaibung Khunou both in Senapati district also polled 102.5 and 103.97 votes respectively. The increase in the number of votes was because of either proxy votes or booth capturing. Repoll will be held in these four polling stations along with two other polling stations tomorrow under heavy security,” chief electoral officer O. Nabakishore Singh today said.

He said at the moment, the total number of voters and votes polled in the Kapao and Phaibung Khunou polling stations were not with him. But the poll percentages were more than 100 in these polling stations according to reports of the presiding officers, he added.

The Outer Manipur seat went to the polls on Wednesday. Ten candidates are in fray in the Outer Manipur seat. The overall poll percentage was calculated at 84.56, Nabakishore Singh said.

The other two polling stations, where repoll will be held tomorrow are Lambung in Chandel district and Sanakeithel in Ukhrul district.

The chief electoral officer said repoll was ordered for Lambung after an anti-social element damaged the EVM during Wednesday’s election.

He added that some individuals prevented voters from casting their votes and also terrorised the polling personnel at Sanakeithel polling station.

“We have recommended to the Election Commission for holding repoll in these six polling stations after examining reports of the presiding officers of the stations and also the reports submitted by the respective deputy commissioners. The Election Commission has agreed to conduct the repoll,” Nabakishore Singh said.

Ukhrul, Chandel and Senapati districts are strongholds of the Naga Peoples’ Front (NPF) candidate Soso Lorho.

The chief electoral officer said 80 armed personnel of the paramilitary force would be provided in each of the polling stations tomorrow.

Additional police forces led by senior police officers like inspector-general of police, deputy-inspector generals of police and superintendents of police of the respective districts would supervise the security during tomorrow’s repoll.

He said female voters outnumbered the male voters in the Outer seat.

The chief electoral officer said there were 3,78,893 male voters and 3,93,513 female voters.