Cong fields 36 names in Mizoram

The Congress will contest all the 40 Assembly seats

By Henry L. Khojol in Aizawl
  • Published 12.10.18, 12:16 AM
  • Updated 12.10.18, 12:16 AM
  • 2 mins read
Some of the Congress candidates. Henry L. Khojol

The ruling Congress on Thursday announced the names of candidates for the November 28 Mizoram Assembly polls, dropping eight sitting MLAs and fielding 12 new faces.

State Congress president and chief minister Lal Thanhawla released the names of 36 of the 40 candidates in a function held at Lal Thanhawla auditorium here.

The names of four candidates will be announced later.

The Congress will contest all the 40 Assembly seats.

This time the Congress has dropped eight sitting MLAs and brought in 12 new entrants, 33 per cent of whom were below 40 years of age.

The sitting MLAs who were dropped include minister R. Romawia from Aizawl North-I, former labour minister Lalrinmawia Ralte from Hachhek and deputy Speaker Lalrinawma from Aizawl East-I.

Among the debutants, Lalhmachhuana, 37, is the youngest. He will replace K. Lalrinthanga in Serlui constituency.

Chief minister Lal Thanhawla will contest from two constituencies — his home turf Serchhip and Champhai South. He is likely to be pitted against Zoram People’s Movement’s chief ministerial candidate Lalduhoma, People’s Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) president Vanlalruata and Opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) nominee C. Lalramzauva at Serchhip.

Of the 20 sitting MLAs, 19 will be re-fielded in their respective constituencies, while Ngurdingliana, who represented Chalfilh, has been shifted to Kolasib, replacing P.C. Zoramsangliana. Lal Thanhawla replaced sitting MLA J.H. Rothuama in Champhai South.

New entrant and former Mizoram inspector-general of police L.T. Hranghchal, who recently joined the Congress, will contest from Chalfilh.

Debutante Rosiamngheta will contest from Tawi, the constituency represented by former home minister and former Congress vice-president R. Lalzirliana, who was expelled from the party on 17 September.

In Tuichang, which was represented by sitting legislator Lalrinliana Sailo, who left the party and joined MNF recently, new entrant and Congress media department chairman James Thanghmingmawia will be fielded.

Names of candidates in four constituencies — West Tuipui, Tuichawng, Siaha and Palak, which falls under three autonomous district councils — will be announced later.

Among the 36 candidates, four are below 40 years, eight are between 41 and 50 years, 14 in the age group of 51 to 60, four are between 61 and 70 years and five candidates, including Lal Thanhawla, are above 70 years.

Speaking to reporters after the official announcement of candidate list, Lal Thanhawla expressed the hope that his party would retain power for the third consecutive term and said the anti-incumbency factor would not affect the party prospect. “Though people believe that there is no party that can form the government for the third at the stretch, we will make a hat-trick. We are going to break the jinx.”