Chimran defeats top seed Suzen

Read more below

  • Published 4.07.14

Guwahati, July 3: Top seed Suzen Buragohain of Guwahati bowed out of the first All-Assam Ranking Badminton Tournament, going down to teammate Chimran Kalita 21-12, 21-19 in the under-15 girls’ quarter-finals on the third day at Kanaklata indoor stadium here today.

In the other quarter-finals, second seed Maini Boruah of Sivasagar got the better of Rishika Mahanta of Guwahati 21-12, 21-2 while third seed Sumi Rajkumari of Nazira beat Lima Mech of Tezpur 21-7, 21-14. Adrita Buragohain of Dibrugarh ensured her place in the semi-finals, defeating Pankhi Lahan of Golaghat 21-7, 21-17. In the under-13 boys’ category, top seed Angshuman Gogoi of Lakhimpur and second seed Dixit Gogoi of Dibrugarh ensured places in the semi-finals.

In the quarter-finals, Angshuman Gogoi came back from behind to clinch a victory against Madhurjya Nath of Tezpur 16-21, 21-13 and 21-7 while Dixit Gogoi outplayed Rishikesh Handique of Golaghat 22-17, 21-16. Hrishav Baruah of Dibrugarh defeated Jyotishman Choudhury of Tezpur 22-20, 21-11 while Abhijit Gogoi of Sivasagar beat Pragyan Borkakoti of Tezpur 21-16, 21-10. In the women’s singles, Ashmita Chaliha of Guwahati beat teammate Megha Murchana Bora 21-9, 21-13 while Harshita Chaliha of Guwahati earned a hard-fought victory against Dimple Hazarika of Guwahati 21-19, 12-21 and 21-8. It was yet another an all-Guwahati affair in the other quarter-final held today as Ankita Rajkhowa eased past Kangkana Kumari 21-9, 21-11. The under-17 quarter finals witnessed top seed Pragyan Jyoti Gogoi defeating Biswajit Bordoloi of Guwahati 21-11, 21-13 while Monimugdha Rajkonwar of Guwahati got the better of Abhinab Gogoi 21-12, 14-21 and 21-10.

Table tennis: Don Bosco School, in association with the Don Bosco Alumni, Guwahati Unit is organising the 6th All-Assam Ranking Table Tennis Championship and the 3rd All-Assam Ranking Badminton Championship from July 6 to 9 on the school premises.

The table tennis championship will be the first ranking tournament of the year while the badminton championship will be the second ranking one.