BJP to oppose land-swap deal

Read more below

  • Published 1.07.13

Silchar, June 30: On a day when the BJP state executive committee meeting resolved to oppose the land-swap deal with Bangladesh, party leaders and supporters unfurled the Tricolour in the disputed villages of Latitilla-Dumabari near the international boundary in Karimganj district today.

Sources said police stopped hundreds of state BJP leaders and workers on NH6 near the entrance of the two villages. Parimal Shukla Vaidya, former BJP MLA told this correspondent over phone that the police and BSF, however, allowed a part of the congregation to later march into the disputed villages and take part in the flag-hoisting ceremony.

BJP national vice-president and party observer in Assam S.S. Aluwahalia, two former Union ministers and party MPs Kabindra Purka-ystha and Bijoya Chakraborty among others, were present at the ceremony, where slogans denouncing the land-swap deal were raised. Assam BJP president Sarbananda Sonowal hoisted the flag amid a strict cordon of security provided by BSF jawans and the district police.

Earlier in the day, the executive committee meeting focussed on the 237.5 acres of land in Latitilla-Dumabari villages, which would be transferred to Bangladesh under the land-swap deal. The panel also demanded the removal of the names of over a lakh of “doubtful voters” in the electoral rolls.

In another resolution, the committee demanded the establishment of a 500MW coal-based thermal power unit in Margherita and revival of the closed Chandrapur thermal power station, in order to end the power crisis in Assam.

The meeting also demanded the setting up of a regional economic development council for the Barak Valley comprising the districts of Cachar, Karimganj and Hailakandi. The expediting of the 201km broad-gauge railway project, which is pending since 1996 and the completion of the scheme to lay a part of the Silchar-Porbunder expressway in Cachar and Dima Hasao districts also figured in the set of resolutions passed unanimously. A total of over 150 state executive committee members and other delegates attended the two-day meeting being held in a Barak Valley district for the second time after 1998. BJP MPs Rajen Gohain and Ramen Deka also attended the meeting.