Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

5 seats in Northeast to vote tomorrow

Rally flurry on final day of campaign

By Our Special Correspondent and Tanmoy Chakraborty
  • Published 22.04.19, 2:44 AM
  • Updated 22.04.19, 2:44 AM
  • 3 mins read
Batadroba legislator Angoorlata Deka and Gauhati BJP candidate Queen Oja campaign on a Scooty on Sunday. (PTI)

Electioneering reached a feverish pitch on Sunday as parties and candidates made most of the last day of campaigning for third and final phase of polls in Assam.

Five seats will go to the polls in the Northeast on Tuesday, including four in Assam (Gauhati, Dhubri, Barpeta and Kokrajhar) and one in Tripura (East Tripura constituency).

The BJP and the Congress took out bike rallies here on Sunday. Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal flagged off a bike rally at Khanapara while party candidate for Gauhati constituency Queen Oja led an all-women’s bike rally riding pillion on a scooter ridden by Batadroba MLA Angoorlata Deka.

The all-women’s bike rally began from near S.B. Deorah College and culminated at Lachit Nagar after passing through Ganeshguri, Super Market and Six Mile.

Congress candidate for Gauhati, Bobbeeta Sharma, also took out a rally here, accompanied by Assam PCC president Ripun Bora, Independent candidate Junmoni Devi Khaund and Trinamul Congress candidate Manoj Sharma also took out rallies.

Former chief minister Tarun Gogoi campaigned for Sharma at Dispur.

“The voters of Gauhati are politically conscious and I am confident that they will vote for her,” he said.

The Assam PCC president claimed that people in Assam are yearning for a change and the Congress would bag eight to 10 seats in the state out of 14.

Gogoi and deputy chief minister of Rajasthan, Sachin Pilot, addressed a poll rally for Sharma at Goroimar in Kamrup district.

Altogether 17 candidates are in the fray for Gauhati constituency, 15 for Dhubri, nine for Kokrajhar and 13 for Barpeta.

Sonowal on Sunday addressed poll rallies at Manikpur in Bongaigaon district, Baghmara Char in Barpeta district and Baranghati in Kamrup district, and Himanta Biswa Sarma at Changsari, Gossaigaon, Bongaigaon, Patacharkuchi and Amingaon.

Assam BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass also addressed election rallies at Dhubri, Bilasipara and Bijni.

State BJP spokesman Rupam Goswami said the BJP and its allies will win at least 10 of the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. Campaigning ended at 5pm.

For Gauhati constituency, two balloting units will be used as there is a provision for 16 candidates only in single balloting unit and 17 candidates are contesting for Gauhati seat.

There will be 147 polling stations with all-women polling personnel and 125 model polling stations in the third phase.

Tripura East poll: Campaign for the Tripura East constituency concluded on Sunday. The poll for the Tripura East constituency, scheduled for April 18, was deferred to Tuesday by the Election Commission on grounds of inadequate security arrangements and complaints received from the parties.

Ten candidates are in fray, including Rebati Kumar Tripura from the BJP, Narendra Chandra Debbarma from the Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT), Jitendra Choudhury from the CPM and Pragya Deb Burman from the Congress.

Two greenhorns are contesting from Tripura East (ST) constituency, including BJP candidate Rebati Kumar Tripura and Pragya Deb Burman from Congress.

Dhalai superintendent of police (SP) Sudipta Das said adequate security force has been deployed in Dhalai district.

IPFT assistant general secretary Mevar Kumar Jamatia told The Telegraph that on Sunday they were campaigning at Dhalai district, where IPFT chief N.C. Debbarma was present.

BJP candidate for Tripura East (ST) constituency Rebati Kumar Tripura was served a showcause notice on Wednesday last for exceeding elections funds beyond limit.

Pragya Deb Burman, who is a member of Tripura’s Manikya dynasty, was unavailable for comments.

Tripura chief electoral officer Sriram Taranikanti said strict measures would be taken to ensure free and fair elections.

The BJP on Sunday accused the banned insurgent outfits All Tripura Tiger Force (ATTF) and National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT) of campaigning in favour of Congress and demanded the Election Commission to take action against them.

Addressing a news conference at the party office, BJP spokesperson Nabendu Bhattacharya alleged that banned insurgent outfits of state are campaigning for the Congress.

“We lodged a complaint with the Election Commission with records,” he said.

He also alleged that banned ATTF president Ranjit Debbarma, who was arrested in Bangladesh in 2012, was seen with PCC president Pradyot Kishore Manikya Deb Burman during campaigns.

“Our party has submitted a complaint about involvement of militants with the Congress with video footage to the Election Commission,” the BJP spokesperson said.

Deputy inspector-general (DIG) Arindam Nath said a general diary was registered at Champahower police station in Khowai district about threats issued from a self-styled insurgent leader of the NLFT, which was telecast in a local channel.

“ If there is any possibility of attack on them, we shall take necessary measures”, the DIG said.

Taranikanti said he was aware of a complaint being filed about the involvement of militants in the campaign and said that they would look into it and would take necessary action.