Benzema buzz ahead of World Cup final
“There’s a report today(Wednesday) that said that Karim Benzema could come back to Qatar. Is this true? Secondly, is there any possibility that you’d use him for a few minutes, if you needed him?” — that question was lobbed at France coach Didier Deschamps minutes after Wednesday’s semi-final win over Morocco.
Deschamps was expecting this. “I am not going to answer that. Next question please. I am sorry,” was his prompt reply.
However, a media outlet quoted a French journalist assaying that Deschamps’s comment was lost in translation.“He had said ‘it was a stupid question I do not want to answer that. Next question please,” the journalist told the media outlet.
Benzema was ruled out of the World Cup after picking up a thigh injury in training in Qatar on the eve of the tournament. He flew back home to Madrid to begin work on his recovery. The speculation started after one Spanish newspaper reported that he has regained full fitness and given that he’s still registered in France’s World Cup squad, he could play a part in the final. Real Madrid have reportedly given Benzema permission to do so and the ball is now in Deschamps’ court.