Ajsu Party
Jharkhand  /  Published 30.11.19

Alliance ball in Ajsu court

Bihar minister Nand Kishore Yadav, who is also the BJP’s co-in-charge for the Jharkhand Assembly election, on Friday said that the saffron party still considers the Ajsu Party as an ally.“At the C...
By Our Correspondent in Ranchi

Jharkhand  /  Published 08.12.19

War of the ladies in Koderma crying for jobs

Education minister and BJP leader Neera Yadav was called a giant killer when she defeated firebrand four-term MLA and then RJD leader Annapurna Devi from Koderma Assembly seat in 2014. Come 2019, Neer...
By Vishvendu Jaipuriar in Hazaribagh

Jharkhand  /  Published 06.12.19

NDA split equals Kurmi vote split

The split between former allies BJP and Ajsu Party has thrown the Kurmi community in Ichagarh and Jugsalai Assembly constituencies into focus. Agriculture hub Ichagarh, around 50km from Jamshedpur, is...
By Animesh Bisoee in Jamshedpur

Jharkhand  /  Published 30.06.19

Jharkhand remembers struggle of 1855

Political leaders cutting across party lines on Sunday observed Hul Diwas to commemorate the 1855 uprising of tribals against colonial rule and landlords.Hul Diwas is observed in memory of tribal brot...
By Our Correspondent in Ranchi

Jharkhand  /  Published 29.06.19

Tabrez’s teen widow demands insaaf

She is barely 19, was married in April and widowed a week ago, when 24-year-old welder Tabrez Ansari succumbed to injuries inflicted on him by a murderous mob on June 18 on the suspicion that he was a...
By Kumud Jenamani in Kharsawan

Jharkhand  /  Published 23.12.19

Cong-JMM ahead in tight race

The Opposition combine of the JMM, Congress and RJD in Jharkhand was ahead of the BJP in as many as 41 seats after about four hours of counting on Monday in what is clearly a keenly fought five-phase ...
By The Telegraph in Ranchi/Calcutta

Jharkhand  /  Published 15.12.19

Lookalike posters declare winners

Post-poll drama in the Assembly seat of Mandu has stooped to a new low, with posters of different political parties declaring the margin of win and the vote percentage points polled in the December 12...
By Vishvendu Jaipuriar in Hazaribagh

Jharkhand  /  Published 15.12.19

Lotus test on mine-rich constituencies

Voting on Phase IV on Monday, when 15 Assembly seats decide who their representatives to the Vidhan Sabha will be, will reveal if the lotus still blooms in the mines. The BJP is trying hard to retain ...
By Our Correspondent in Dhanbad

Jharkhand  /  Published 25.12.19

2 women dash MP kin’s poll hopes

Heavyweight Ajsu leader and Giridih MP Chandra Prakash Choudhary is not going to forget the recently concluded Jharkhand Assembly elections in a hurry. Two young women fielded by the Congress shattere...
By Vishvendu Jaipuriar in Hazaribagh

Jharkhand  /  Published 25.12.19

Women lawmakers are still the exception

Jharkhand elected 10 women to the 82-member Assembly — 81 elected and one nominated — in the just-concluded state polls. In 2005, only five women became MLAs. In 2009, the figure rose to eight. In...
By Antara Bose in Jamshedpur


Download our latest App

to get update on the go...


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.