Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

'Hum Honge Kamyaab', sings Kejriwal at his oath-taking ceremony

He was sworn in as Delhi CM for the 3rd time

By Vishal Narayan in New Delhi
  • Published 16.02.20, 2:39 PM
  • Updated 16.02.20, 3:09 PM
  • 2 mins read
Delhi lieutenant-governor Anil Baijal (left) greets AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal after he took oath as the chief minister of Delhi for the third consecutive time, at a ceremony in the Ramlila Maidan in New Delhi, on Sunday, February 16, 2020. PTI

AAP national convenor Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday broke into the song Hum Honge Kamyaab, the Hindi rendition of iconic gospel We Shall Overcome, after taking oath for the third time as the chief minister of Delhi at the historic Ramlila Maidan from where he began his political activism in earnest along with Anna Hazare and his team. 

The swearing-in ceremony began with the national anthem after which Delhi lieutenant-governor Anil Baijal invited Kejriwal along with his cabinet ministers to take oath. Six other AAP ministers—Manish Sisodia, Kailash Gahlot, Satyendar Jain, Gopal Rai, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Gautam—were also sworn in.

"Today, your son has taken the oath as CM for the third time. This is not my victory, it is the victory of every person of Delhi and every family of Delhi. Our effort has been to bring happiness to the life of everyone. This has been our attempt in the last five years, this will continue for the next five years," Kejriwal said after the oath ceremony as thousands of attendees chanted Jai Hind and Bharat Mata ki Jai slogans

"I want to work with everyone. Elections are over now but a lot of politics was done during it. Whatever was said against us during the election by my opponents, I forgive them for it," he said.

"I had sent an invitation to the PM also. But he could not come, maybe because of his busy schedule."

The leader who came to power for the third time with an unassailable majority in the Assembly also expressed his gratitude to the people of Delhi.

"Delhi is not run by any politician. It is not run by Kejriwal. Delhi is run by its teachers, its doctors, its rickshaw drivers, its businessmen, who create jobs for the people... Parties come and go. But if Delhi moves it, it is because of its people," he said.

The Aam Aadmi Party swept the Delhi Assembly polls bagging 62 out 70 seats . The BJP won eight seats. The Congress could not open its account for the second time.

According to the police, 2,000 to 3,000 personnel from the Delhi police and paramilitary forces, including the CRPF, were deployed as part of the security arrangements.

The swearing in was postponed from February 14 (Friday) to Sunday to avoid possible criticism over celebrating the electoral victory on the first anniversary of the Pulwama terror attack in which 40 CRPF soldiers were killed.

The first two AAP governments had been sworn in on Valentine’s Day (February 14).