regular-article-logo Thursday, 30 November 2023

New York, Texas and Florida to host US leg of next year’s T20 World Cup

ICC says an agreement has been reached for construction of a 34,000- seat modular stadium at Nassau County

Our Bureau Calcutta Published 21.09.23, 09:37 AM
Representational image.

Representational image. File photo

New York, Texas and Florida will host the US leg of next year’s T20 World Cup, the ICC announced on Wednesday following inspections that were conducted earlier this year.

While Grand Prairie (in Dallas, Texas) and Broward County (Lauderhill, Florida) already have existing infrastructure to host matches, the ICC will increase the stadium capacity at both venues.


The ICC has said that an agreement has been reached for the construction of a 34,000-seat modular stadium at Nassau County on Long Island, New York.

This is the first time the tournament will be played in the US, who are co-hosting with the West Indies.

“We’re delighted to announce the three USA venues that will host part of the biggest ICC Men’s T20 World Cup ever staged, with 20 teams competing for the trophy,” said Geoff Allardice, ICC’s chief executive, in a release.

The 2024 T20 World Cup will be the first of eight men’s global events in the ICC’s next commercial cycle from 2024-31, which was finalised in 2021.

The format for the T20 World Cup will be different to the last two editions (2020-21 in the UAE and 2022 in Australia), where the first round was followed by Super 12s.

The 20 teams will be split into four groups of five each for the first round in next year’s edition, with the top two from each group qualifying for the Super 8s. The Super 8 teams will then be split into two groups of four each, with the top two in each group reaching the semi-finals.

Siraj back on top

Dubai: India pacer Mohammed Siraj has regained his No.1 spot in the ICC ODI rankings for bowlers after his six-wicket haul in the Asia Cup final in Colombo on Sunday.

Siraj, who first grabbed the top position in January before being displaced by Australia’s Josh Hazlewood in March, has surged eight spots after his memorable 6/21, which helped India dismiss Sri Lanka for 50 and led them to a 10-wicket victory in the decider.

Left-arm chinaman Ku­ldeep Yadav has moved down three places to ninth, while India’s pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has climbed up two places to 27th.


Follow us on: