Read more below

By Staff Reporter in Calcutta
  • Published 12.04.01
Calcutta, April 12 :    Calcutta, April 12:  East Bengal were 143 runs too good for Tollyugunge Agragami today. At the Taltala ground, East Bengal scored at almost eight an over to pile up 325 for six in their A.N. Ghosh Trophy match. Veterans Srikant Kalyani and Gautam Shome got sixties. Tollygunge Agragami managed just 182. BRIEF SCORES: East Bengal 325/6 (S. Kalyani 66, Gautam Shome 62). Tollygunge Agragami 182 (Jayanta Ghosh Dastidar 58; Shib Sagar Singh 2/18, Narendra Singh 2/21, Sumit Panda 2/32, Rohan Gavaskar 2/52). East Bengal won by 143 runs. Arindam 206 n.o. Bengal under-19 player Arindam Das smashed an unbeaten 206 to guide Wari to 445 for nine on Day I of their J.C. Mukherjee Trophy quarter final tie against Shyambazar today. Arindam's knock was studded with 25 boundaries and half-a-dozen sixes. Kalighat also rattled up a 400-plus score in their quarter final clash with Eastern Railway, thanks to Safi Ahmed (113), Manoj Roy (87) and Sanjib Sanyal (71). SUMMARISED SCORES Wari 445/9 (Arindam Das 206 not out, Probal Dutta 51, Saikat Mukherjee 50) vs Shyambazar. Kalighat 412/7 (Safi Ahmed 113, Manoj Roy 87, Sanjib Sanyal 71, Humza Firozie 44; Manoj Srivastav 2/53) vs Eastern Railway. Bengal in semis Bengal beat Uttar Pradesh by 17 runs today to enter the semi-finals of the Indira Priyadarshini Champions Trophy meet. The hosts will face Air India who beat Mumbai by seven wickets today. Andhra Pradesh made the last four after edging past Jharkhand by a single run. Andhra next come up against Railways. SUMMARISED SCORES Bengal 162/3 (Chandrabati Pal 76 not out, Bobby Datta 50). Uttar Pradesh 145/7 (Reena Singh 61 not out; Seema Bhowmick 2/23). Bengal won by 17 runs. Andhra Pradesh 178 (Kusumlatha 52; Shabana Adil 2/23, Shamima Parveen 2/28). Jharkhand 177 (Monica Sumra 45, Asha Kumari 32; Monica Prithi 2/24). Andhra won by 1 run. Mumbai 105 (Sonali Chandok 31; Jhulan Goswami 3/23, Mamta Kishan 2/13, Vidya Gopal 2/20). Air India 106/3 (Anjum Chopra 41 n.o.; Sumitra Paranjpe 2/11). Air India won by 7 wkts. State chess Baisakhi Das and Paramita Ghosh won their respective third-round matches to be joint leaders in the state women's chess meet. In the junior boys' event, there is a five-way lead with Saptarshi Roy, Pradip Ghosh, Kumardip Chakraborty, Suman Basu and Punit Jaiswal having all garnered maximum points (3 each).