Home / Odisha / Naveen stress on translation - 18 honoured with Orissa Sahitya Academy awards

Naveen stress on translation - 18 honoured with Orissa Sahitya Academy awards

Read more below

LELIN KUMAR MALLICK   |   Published 05.06.11, 12:00 AM

Bhubaneswar, June 4: Orissa Sahitya Academy awards for 2007 and 2008 were presented at a special function here today.

Chief minister Naveen Patnaik presented the awards to 18 authors under nine categories.

The winners were honoured with a cash prize of Rs 25,000 each along with citation and a shawl.

Manoj Kumar Mohapatra received the award for Nirvana in the novel category for 2007 whereas Bhima Prusty was honoured for Samudra Manisa in the same category for 2008.

In the short story category, Bishnu Sahu (Gotie gaan ra chitrapata) and Prakash Mahapatra (Kita o anyanya galpa) received the award for 2007 and 2008, respectively.

Addressing the gathering, chief minister Patnaik described language as the prime identity of any race. “Literature is the carrier of language and tradition,” he said.

Patnaik also promised to extend all support and assistance to bring a new wave in Oriya language and literature.

Recalling the contributions made by Sarala Das, Upendra Bhanja, Fakir Mohan, Gangadhar Meher to the growth of Oriya language and literature, Naveen called for more sincere efforts to enrich the language.

The chief minister also stressed on the need for more translated works to make Oriya literature popular in other Indian states and abroad.

Tourism and culture minister Prafulla Kumar Samal, culture secretary Ashok Tripathy and president of Orissa Sahitya Academy, Dr Ramachandra Behera were present on this occasion.

Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.