Regular-article-logo Friday, 09 June 2023

Mega Marathon Manipur sends unity message

3,500 runners participate in the 21km full marathon organised by the United Peoples’ Front to send unity message

Robert Sapam Imphal Published 04.11.18, 07:07 PM
Runners make a dash from the starting point at Khuman Lampak sports complex during the marathon on Sunday.

Runners make a dash from the starting point at Khuman Lampak sports complex during the marathon on Sunday. Picture by Robert Sapam

Runners Shankar Man Thapa of Shillong and Nongthombam Chaoba Devi of Manipur emerged winners in the men’s and women’s categories of the 12th Mega Marathon Manipur, which started off from Khuman Lampak sports complex here on Sunday.

The 21km full marathon was organised by the United Peoples’ Front and supported by the Athletic Association of Manipur with a theme of Run for Your Nation. Around 3,500 runners participated in the marathon, which was flagged off by forest and environment minister Th. Shyamkumar Singh.


“Let the marathon carry the message that there is no discrimination in sport and it helps us stay united while facing the adversary,” he added.

The runners crisscrossed the important routes of Imphal city and suburban areas of Imphal West and Imphal East, including Dingku Road, Thangmeiband, Khuyathong, Uripok, Patsoi, Sagolband, Kwakeithel, Khagempalli, Sigjamei, Ayangpalli, Porompat and finally converged at Khuman Lampak sports complex.

Altogether 10 checkposts were installed along the routes, which were manned by volunteers of the United Peoples’ Front and officials of various sports associations to deter runners from hiking lift.

In the men’s category, L.R. Lulher of Senapati district stood second and Khaidem Roshan of Terakhongsangbi finished third.

In the women’s category, Tayenjam Russia of Ngairangbam took the second spot and Sagolsem Premila Devi of Yairipok Kekru stood third. The top three runners in each category were awarded Rs 40,000, Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively.

Manipur Speaker Yumnam Khemchand distributed the prizes to the participants. Runners, who featured among the first 15, were given consolation prizes.

Follow us on: