West Bengal  /  Published 10.01.20

Drug jail for TMC leader

A Trinamul leader based in Bhatpara of Balurghat block in North Dinajpur was sentenced to 10 years’ rigorous imprisonment by a local court on Friday for drug smuggling.Lagin Das is a former panchaya...
By Kousik Sen in Raiganj

West Bengal  /  Published 06.01.20

Bhatpara no-trust motion order

The high court on Monday asked the Bhatpara municipality to hold a meeting at 1pm on Tuesday for moving a no-confidence motion by Trinamul against BJP chairman Saurav Singh under the supervision of th...
By TT Bureau in Calcutta

West Bengal  /  Published 07.02.20

Birthday gesture in trouble zone

Medha Pal, a second-year postgraduate student of Rabindra Bharati University, celebrated her 23rd birthday on Friday by distributing exercise books, pens and study kits among 120 children in the viole...
By Subhasish Chaudhuri in Bhatpara

West Bengal  /  Published 08.09.19

Study aid in Bengal clash zone

Books, schoolbags and stationery were donated on Sunday to over 300 students who lost study material and have not been attending school because of the political violence in the Kankinara-Bhatpara area...
By Subhasish Chaudhuri in Kankinara

West Bengal  /  Published 19.05.19

Violence mars Bhatpara Assembly bypoll

A 30-year-old youth suffered a bullet wound during a fight between Trinamul and BJP supporters at Kankinara, which falls under the Bhatpara Assembly constituency in North 24-Parganas.Bombs and bullets...
By Snehamoy Chakraborty in Kankinara


West Bengal  /  Published 19.11.19

Kalyani Expressway bullet victim dies

The 48-year-old man who was shot at when he tried to prevent a gang from snatching his motorcycle on Kalyani Expressway on Sunday night died at hospital early on Tuesday.Bibhuti Ghosh, who was manager...
By Subhasish Chaudhuri in Calcutta

West Bengal  /  Published 04.06.19

BJP grabs Bhatpara civic board

The BJP on Tuesday took over the Bhatpara municipality by defeating the Trinamul Congress’s acting chairman in a no-confidence vote and electing Barrackpore BJP MP Arjun Singh’s nephew as the new ...
By Our Special Correspondent in Bhatpara


Download our latest App

to get update on the go...


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.