Ratabari poll campaign

Read more below

  • Published 5.02.03

Silchar, Feb. 5: With all the major political parties having finalised their candidates for the Ratabari bypoll in Karimganj district, the stage is set for full-fledged electioneering to begin.

The AGP-Marxist Manch alliance has announced Promode Chandra Sarkar, a retired principal of a higher secondary school as its Ratabari candidate.

His candidature was approved at a closed-door meeting of both parties in Guwahati last night.

While the BJP has renominated Shambhu Mala, a former MLA from this constituency, the Congress has picked Kripanath Malah, a panchayat leader.

Both will file their papers tomorrow, the last day of filing of nominations.

The Samata Party-People’s Democratic Front sprang a surprise by nominating a former BJP leader Dibyendu Das, a teacher and son of former BJP MP in the Lok Sabha from Karimganj, D.N. Das.

AGP leader Shahidul Alam Choudhury, today said Sarkar would file his papers tomorrow. CPM candidate Beni Madhav Rabidas, a peasant leader, filed his nomination yesterday.

The constituency has an electorate of over 1 lakh voters.