Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

GNRC hospital offers surgery scheme

Bed charges for joint replacement, gallbladder, hernia and ENT surgery to be incurred by Dispur GNRC hospital

By Hiranya Barman in Guwahati
  • Published 12.01.20, 1:14 AM
  • Updated 12.01.20, 1:14 AM
  • a min read
GNRC chief operating officer Thaomunglung Chukhrungfa speaks at the event Picture by UB Photos

The Dispur-based GNRC Hospital, on its 34th foundation day on Saturday, launched special surgery scheme with zero bed charge for four major diseases across all GNRC hospitals in the state.

GNRC Dispur authorities said bed charges for joint replacement, gallbladder, hernia and ENT surgery will be incurred by the hospital.

“Patients admitted for the surgeries will only have to pay the cost of medicines and operation theatre charges. The bed charge includes stay in the hospital and fees of doctors and nurses,” GNRC chief operating officer Thaomunglung Chukhrungfa said.

He said GNRC launched its affordable health mission in August 2017 in keeping with its goal of spreading awareness about preventive healthcare and giving people access to quality, affordable healthcare.

“This mission is making greater strides in recent times,” he added.

Nemcare Hospital MD Dr Hitesh Barua, who was the chief guest, spoke on doctor-patient relationship in present times.

The 2020 calendar launched at the event featured 12 achievers who have excelled in the fields of art, culture and literature.

They include Xattriya dancer Kehuram Bora, social worker Kumud Kalita, naam singer Bhabananda Pathak, dancer Promila Talukdar, Ojapali dancer Joydev Chandra Medhi, environmentalist Buddheswar Rai.

Two retired doctors Prem Kumar Singh from Lanka and Biswa Ranjan Kalita from Tezpur, who have tirelessly serving the local communities were, were felicitated on the occasion.

GNRC announced free life-time healthcare to all the 12 achievers and the two doctors as a token of appreciation and gratitude.

Employees who have excelled in their respective fields in the past year and winners of various in-house competitions were also awarded.