Bud are champions - Club receives Rs 12000 in prize money for 75-run win

Read more below

By Staff Reporter
  • Published 21.12.12

Ankurjyoti cricket

Guwahati, Dec. 20: Bud Cricket Club today annexed the Ratanlal Singhania and Mohini Devi Singhania Trophy Ankurjyoti Challenge cricket tournament title, beating Navarang Club by 75 runs in the final at Judges field here.

Despite the adverse weather conditions, Bud elected to bat and were restricted to 175 for eight in the 35 overs. In reply, Navarang were out for 100 in 28.1 overs.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Kunal Saikia topscored for Bud with an unbeaten 45 (4x7) and Prasanta Sonowal contributed 40 (4x3, 6x1). Rishav Das also chipped in with 37 (4x5).

Azhar Ali and Utpal Gayari of Navarang shared two wickets each, giving away 30 and 40 runs respectively, while Sekharjyoti Barman picked up one for 27.

For Navarang, Raj Hussain (37, 4x3, 6x1) was the topscorer. Utpal Medhi (12) and Manoj Malo (11) were the only other notable scorers.

Bud paceman Pritam Das scalped three wickets for 20 runs, while Mukut Kalita and Krishna Das shared two each for 20 and 30 runs respectively.

Bud went home richer by Rs 12,000 and Navarang received Rs 8,000 in prize money.

Prasanta Sonowal was adjudged Man of the Match and his teammate Rishav Das was named Man of the Tournament. Sekharjyoti Barman of Navarang and Romario Sharma of City Cricket Club were named the best bowler and batsman respectively. Navajyoti Club bagged the fair play trophy.