Xavier's alumni to honour top cop

Read more below

  • Published 16.12.11

Patna, Dec. 15: The St Xavier’s Alumni Association (SXAA) will honour director-general of police (DGP) Abhayanand and several other reputed personalities with the “Distinguished Xaverian” aw-ard at its annual reunion on December 17.

St Xavier’s School president R.N. Sahay said the alumni association was one of the oldest groups of its kind across the country. This time, the reunion will be held on the school campus at Gandhi Maidan. The main feature of this year’s alumni reunion will be the forum’s decision to honour its distinguished alumni.

Sahay said: “The personalities who will be felicitated include Abhayanand (1970 batch). He will be honoured for his outstanding services, achievements and contributions to education and policing.” The school will also honour Dr Alak Kumar Gupta (1945 batch), one of the senior-most alumni. He had joined the school in 1940 — the year it was founded with Fr Marshall D Moran SJ as its principal.

Apart from Abhayanand and Gupta, other alumni who will be felicitated include Prof. K.V. Srinivasan (1953) an eminent educationist and retired IPS officer J.K.Sinha (1961 batch).

The alumni association will also honour Dr John Mukhopadhya (1975 batch) and C.K. Mishra (1976 batch) with the Significant Achievement Award and the Fr Wroblewski Memorial Award respectively. Mukhopadhya is a leading consultant orthopaedic surgeon, while Mishra is an IAS officer who holds the post of principal secretary in the industries department.

Amulya Kumar Singh, an eminent orthopaedic surgeon of city, said the reunion would be the golden jubilee celebration of the 1961 batch of the school and the silver jubilee celebration of the 1986 batch.

A series of cultural events will be held for the alumni reunion. The second day of the event will see a cricket match being played between Xave-rians in the city and those outside. The match will be held at Moin-ul-Haq Stadium.