regular-article-logo Sunday, 01 October 2023

India finish at 133 in 20 overs

South African lose 5 wickets

PTI Perth Published 30.10.22, 04:04 PM
Surya hits half a ton

Surya hits half a ton Twitter/@ICC

  • South Africa lose its fifth wicket, according to media reports
  • South Africa lose another wicket after Aiden Markram's out, according to media reports
  • South African skipper Temba Bavuma dismissed, according to media reports
  • Arshdeep has taken the wickets of Quinton de Kock and Rilee Rossouw, according to media reports

Suryakumar Yadav lifted India to 133 for nine with a 40-ball 68 against South Africa in the T20 World Cup here on Sunday.


Opting to bat, skipper Rohit Sharma was the first batter to get dismissed, following which India kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

Returning to the team at the expense of Tabraiz Shamsi, pacer Lungi Ngidi was the wrecker-in-chief as he ran through the famed Indian top-order with four wickets during an incisive spell of fast bowling on a pacy track.

However, Suryakumar was at his aggressive best and revived India's innings with his dazzling array of strokes.

Left-arm pacer Wayne Parnell took 3/15 in his four overs.

Brief scores:

India: 133/9 in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 68; Lungi Ngidi 4/29, Wayne Parnell 3/15).

Earlier, India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa in their T20 World Cup match here on Sunday.

In the only change to the India XI, Deepak Hooda came in place of Axar Patel.

Lungi Ngidi replaced Tabraiz Shamsi in the South African team.

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje.

Follow us on: