regular-article-logo Friday, 09 June 2023

Ashes 2021-22: Schedule released, opening Test in Brisbane

The women’s Ashes series will begin with a one-off Test in January next year

Our Bureau Published 19.05.21, 03:27 PM
Adelaide will host the day and night Test from December 16. Photo:

Adelaide will host the day and night Test from December 16. Photo:

The oldest cricket rivalry between England and Australia will renew in December this year. You guessed that right. The Ashes 2021-22 schedule has been announced by Cricket Australia, with Brisbane set to host the first Test on December 8. But before that, Australia will play a Test match versus Afghanistan in November in Hobart.

The opening Test in Brisbane will be followed by a day and night Test in Adelaide, after which the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will host the iconic Boxing Day Test starting December 26. The final two Test matches will be held at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and the Optus Stadium in Perth.


Here's the Men’s Ashes 2021-22 schedule:

1st Test: December 8-12, at Gabba in Brisbane

2nd Test: December 16-20, at Adelaide Oval (D/N)

3rd Test: December 26-30, at MCG

4th Test: January 5-9, at SCG

5th Test: January 14-18, in Perth

Cricket Australia hopeful of impressive footfall

Cricket Australia’s interim chief Nick Hockely is hopeful the Ashes series will be conducted in front of full crowds. “The Ashes is one of the great global sporting rivalries and seems to grow ever larger with each series and generation. We cannot wait to host England men over five Tests this summer. The most recent men’s Ashes series was a remarkable contest that captured the imagination of the entire cricketing world, and I expect this summer to be no different,” Hockley was quoted as saying by Sky Sports.

However, there still is no clarity over England fans attending the matches. “In a perfect world, we would welcome England fans back to these shores for a summer of singing and sportsmanship. Of course, we will be guided by the Australian Government on all things related to international travel,” Hockley said in a statement.

Ashes 2021-22 women

The schedule for the women's Ashes series has also been released. England women and Australia women will square off in a one-off Test from January 27. The entire tour will comprise one Test, three T20Is and two One-Day internationals. “2022 is going to be an amazing year for women's cricket. With an Ashes, a World Cup in New Zealand and a home Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, this could be a landmark year for our team,” England and Wales Cricket Board chief executive Tom Harrison told AFP.

Here's the women's Ashes schedule:

January 27-30: Test, Manuka Oval, Canberra

February 4: 1st T20I, North Sydney Oval, Sydney

February 6: 2nd T20I, North Sydney Oval

February 10: 3rd T20I, Adelaide Oval

February 13: 1st ODI, Adelaide Oval

Follow us on: