Home / North-east / Manipur to host NE Olympic games

Manipur to host NE Olympic games

The Manipur Olympic Association will host the first North East Olympic Games under the aegis of the Indian Olympic Association from October 5-8.

Robert Sapam   |   Imphal   |   Published 21.08.18, 12:00 AM

Imphal: The Manipur Olympic Association will host the first North East Olympic Games under the aegis of the Indian Olympic Association from October 5-8.

Addressing reporters at Olympic Bhavan here on Monday evening, Manipur Olympic Association general secretary Sunil Elangbam said this has been a long-cherished dream of the North East State Olympic Associations to hold such an event and for the first time in history of the Indian sports, eight Olympic associations of the Northeast will come under an umbrella to boost the morale of its sportspersons.

"We will constitute an organising committee for smooth conduct of the event," he added.

Manipur Olympic Association senior vice-president G.A. Ibopishak Sharma said, "We have approached the North Eastern Council with a budget of Rs 1.6 crore. However, they have sanctioned Rs 20 lakh and of it, Rs 15 lakh has been released."

"We expect 1,900 athletes to take part in 10 disciplines, including athletics, archery, boxing, taekwondo, weightlifting, wushu, football, badminton, judo and table tennis. We tried to hold the event in July but the amount of funds sanctioned was meagre and election to the Manipur Olympic Association also slowed down the process," he added. "We will approach the state government for financial help but in case if it does not materialise, we will cut down on the expenditure. We need at least Rs 80 lakh to organise the event successfully," Sharma said.

Manipur Basketball Association president Th. Radheshyam Singh has been elected the new president of the Manipur Olympic Association for the term of 2018-2022.

State education minister Radheshyam Singh beat his lone opponent, former minister and Manipur Judo Association president Bijoy Koijam, by 50-3 votes.

Sunil Elangbam from the Manipur Weightlifting Association retained his general secretary post by beating Shantikumar of the All Manipur Gymnastic Association by a mammoth 51-1 votes. The treasurer's post was taken by Basudev Sharma of the Manipur Hockey.

The post of senior vice-resident of the Manipur Olympic Association went unopposed with Ibopishak retaining his seat. Four more posts for the joint secretaries went unchallenged with M. Birmani, T. Dushanta, Ito Tongbram and L. Shantakeshor making the cut. The five vice-presidents are L. Ajit Singh of the Manipur Athletic Association, K. Baruni Singh of the Manipur Amateur Kho-Kho, M. Chourajit Singh of the All Manipur Mukna Association, K. Jayananda Sharma of the Triathlon Association of Manipur and M. Rachandra Singh of the Manipur Golf Association.

Mobile Article Page Banner
Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.