regular-article-logo Sunday, 23 June 2024

Election Commission of India transfers four police officers ahead of May 25, when constituency votes

Commission has requested government to submit three eligible candidates for posts of Purulia SP and SDPO Contai within 24 hours

Saibal Gupta Calcutta Published 20.05.24, 06:04 AM
Representational image

Representational image File picture

The Election Commission of India has transferred the police chief of Purulia, Avijit Banerjee, ahead of May 25, when the constituency votes in this Lok Sabha election.

Banerjee — an IPS cadre of 2013 — was the SP, Diamond Harbour, during the Assembly polls in 2021, but was also removed from his position by the commission. Sources in the commission said that an officer once removed during an election for certain reasons is generally not allowed on election duty.


The commission has also transferred officers in charge of Bhupatinagar and Patashpur, Gopal Pathak and Raju Kundu, respectively, and the SDPO of Contai subdivision Dibakar Das, all in East Midnapore district, with immediate effect.

The commission said in its notification that all these officers should be transferred to non-election-related posts.

In a recent meeting in East Midnapore, BJP leader and the leader of the Opposition in the Assembly, Suvendu Adhikari, alleged that certain officers, including those from Patashpur and Bhupatinagar, had been working in favour of Bengal's ruling party.

The commission has requested the government to submit three eligible candidates for the posts of Purulia SP and SDPO Contai within 24 hours. The decisions regarding the postings of the two officers in charge will be made at the CEO level.

Sources within the commission have revealed that there were serious allegations against these officers from the BJP. After independently verifying these allegations, the commission decided to remove the officers to ensure a level playing field for all political parties in the election.

Like Purulia, Kanthi too will vote in the sixth phase of elections on May 25.

Follow us on: