regular-article-logo Saturday, 22 June 2024

Siliguri civic body to felicitate Richa and Wridhhiman

Siliguri girl achieved another feat last week when ICC selected her for its Women’s T20 Team of the Year (2022)

Bireswar Banerjee Siliguri Published 31.01.23, 05:03 AM
Richa Ghosh (left); Wridhhiman Saha

Richa Ghosh (left); Wridhhiman Saha File picture

The Siliguri Municipal Corporation will felicitate Richa Ghosh, the wicketkeeper-batter of the Indian team that lifted the ICC’s inaugural U-19 Women’s World Cup with an emphatic seven-wicket victory over England in South Africa on Sunday.

“We have decided to give Richa a civic reception after she returns home. We also trying to contact another ace cricketer Wridhhiman Saha, who is also a local boy. They will be felicitated jointly,” mayor Gautam Deb said on Monday.


Later in the day, Deb visited Richa’s house here and congratulated her mother Swapna for the daughter’s achievement.

Manabendra Ghosh, Richa’s father who is away in Calcutta, said her daughter’s toil had worked. “It is a very emotional and proud moment for us. Her hard work has paid off,” Manabendra said over the phone.

Richa is also a member of the Indian women’s squad that will participate in the T20 world cup for women to be conducted by the International Cricket Council (ICC) in South Africa in February.

Before becoming a part of the history of women’s cricket in India, the Siliguri girl achieved another feat last week when the ICC selected her for its Women’s T20 Team of the Year (2022).

She had scored 259 runs in 18 matches last year.

Smriti Mandhana, the ace-opening batter, and all-rounder Deepti Sharma are the only two other women cricketers who have found a place in the team from India.

Siliguri Mahakuma Krira Parishad (SMKP), the subdivisional sports body of Siliguri, is also planning to felicitate Richa.

“It is a major achievement for any sportsperson. She has made Siliguri residents proud. We are also planning to give her a gala reception once she returns to the city,” said Kuntal Goswami, the general secretary of the SMKP.

Follow us on: