regular-article-logo Wednesday, 29 November 2023

Bengal by-polls: Babul Supriyo wins by over 20,000 margin, Shatrughan Sinha ahead by almost 2 lakh votes

CPI(M) beats BJP to capture second position in Ballygunge

Our Bureau Calcutta Published 16.04.22, 08:35 AM
TMC candidate for Asansol Lok Sabha seat Shatrughan Sinha files his nomination

TMC candidate for Asansol Lok Sabha seat Shatrughan Sinha files his nomination File Picture

Counting for the by-polls in Asansol is still underway while Trinamul won the Ballygunge assembly seat on Saturday.

Babul Supriyo, who recently shifted loyalty to Mamata Banerjee's party from BJP, won the Ballygunge assembly seat by over 20,000 votes. The singer garnered over 48% votes.


Interestingly, CPI(M) candidate Saira Shah Halim received 36% votes and beat BJP and Congress to take the second spot in Ballygunge.

TMC candidate for Asansol, Bollywood star Shatrughan Sinha has taken a huge lead against BJP's Agnimitra Paul and according to latest reports from, the yesteryear star is leading by a margin of over 1,99,000 votes after the fourteenth round.

Around 66.42 per cent and 41.23 per cent polling was recorded in the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency and the Ballygunge assembly seat, respectively, in the elections held on April 12.

A total of 15 lakh voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in Asansol in Paschim Bardhaman district, while 2.5 lakh people could vote in south Kolkata's Ballygunge.

The by-elections were necessitated as Babul Supriyo resigned as the MP of Asansol after switching over to the TMC from the BJP, while state minister Subrata Mukherjee, who represented Ballygunge, died last year.

The TMC fielded actor Shatrughan Sinha in Asansol, which has a substantial Hindi-speaking population. The BJP nominated Asansol Dakshin MLA Agnimitra Paul. The ruling Trinamool Congress has fielded Supriyo in Ballygunge, where he is pitted against BJP's Keya Ghosh and CPI(M)'s Saira Shah Halim. The Congress is also in the fray in both the seats.

Follow us on: