Midnight change of guard - 17 more police stations come under Lalbazar

Read more below

By Staff Reporter
  • Published 1.09.11

Calcutta police got 17 additional police stations as the clock struck 12 on Wednesday night.

The merger, which will ensure that the entire area served by the Calcutta Municipal Corporation remains under one police force, takes Lalbazar’s police station count to 65 and jurisdiction area from 100sq km to 187sq km.

All 17 police stations were given new General Diary entry books to start with.

The 17 police stations have been created from nine that functioned under South 24-Parganas police till August 31 — Jadavpur, Thakurpukur, Behala, Purba Jadavpur, Tiljala, Regent Park, Metiabruz, Nadial and Kasba. All but Metiabruz have been split into two.

The merger took place at one minute past midnight but the preparations started hours before. The 1,500-odd cops of Calcutta police who have been deployed in the “added areas” were asked to report to their posts at 2pm on Wednesday.

“We were asked to report at 2pm and make the necessary arrangements to ensure a smooth transition at midnight,” said an officer of Thakurpukur police station.

The flurry of activity included ensuring that the eight new police stations had everything in place.

“Office stationery, registers, crime index, noticeboard, lock-up, toilet, malkhana, armoury... the list was long. It was my responsibility to check whether all things were in place before the change of guard,” said the officer-in-charge of one of the new police stations.

Three radio flying squads were engaged to distribute arms meant for the new police stations. “We have assessed the arms available with the nine police stations and decided to take them over. Additional arms will reach the police stations by 11pm,” said a senior officer at Lalbazar.

The officers-in-charge of the nine existing police stations, however, had a less hectic schedule. “I only had to ensure that the Bengal police logo was replaced with the Calcutta police one, be it on the stationery or the vehicles. Most other things remain the same,” said the officer-in-charge of an existing police station.

The scene in the 10 new traffic guards was same as the new police stations. “All men in the traffic department who would be deployed in the added areas on September 1 reached their offices by Wednesday afternoon,” said Dilip Adak, deputy commissioner, traffic (south).

Police station addresses

Behala: 131 Diamond Harbour Road

Parnasree: Upen Banerjee Road, Block 14, Parnasree Pally (new)

Thakurpukur: 123/117 Diamond Harbour Road

Haridevpur: 88 BI Saha Road (new)

Kasba: 27A Bosepukur Road

Garfa: Garfa Deaf and Dumb School premises, Vivekananda Sarani, Doctor Bagan (new)

Jadavpur: 1 Raja SC Mallick Road

Patuli: H-10, Baishnabghata-Patuli Township (new)

Purba Jadavpur: 305 Mukundapur Main Road

Survey Park: Kishore Bharati Krirangan (Jadavpur stadium) (new)

Tiljala: CN Roy Road

Pragati Maidan: Parama Traffic Island (new)

Regent Park: 45/D/2A Moore Avenue

Bansdroni: Rainagar Health Centre, Madhyapara (new)

Nadial: Z-3/102 Dr AK Road

Rajabagan: T-250 Garden Reach Road (new)

Metiabruz: R-1 SA Farouki Road