Curtains on yoga contest

Read more below

  • Published 27.04.08

Ranchi, April 27: The 12th All India Inter-school and Club Yoga competition concluded at Yogada Satsang Mahavidyalaya today.

Payel Swarnkar of Labanega Yog Training Centre won the Yoga Shakti Award while Kamlesh Rajan of Jamshedpur was given the Yog Anand Award. Winner of the Yog Jyoti Award was Dipannita Patro of Hoogly while winner of the Yog Saundarya Award was Bipin Vishal of Kendriya Vidyalaya, Ranchi.

The Ranchi Yoga Culture and World Yoga Society had organised the three-day event. Over 10 organisations sponsored the programme that saw more than 700 participants. The competition was divided into 16 age-groups for men and women.

Participants had to present five asanas of their choice. A majority of the participants presented the padmasana, dhanurasana, vrishchika asana, mayurasana and dhanurasana, among others.

Judges at the event were Neetu Kaur, Sanjay Bisnoi, Prasun Dasgupta and Sumit Mallick.