Home / India / MP cabinet expansion: 12 Scindia loyalists inducted

MP cabinet expansion: 12 Scindia loyalists inducted

Governor Anandiben Patel administers oath of office to 28 ministers
Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan

PTI   |   Bhopal   |   Published 02.07.20, 12:40 PM

The Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led Madhya Pradesh cabinet was expanded on Thursday with induction of 28 ministers, including a dozen loyalists of BJP MP Jyotiraditya Scindia, whose exit from the Congress in March led to fall of the Kamal Nath-led regime in the state.

Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath of office to the new ministers at a function in the Raj Bhawan.

The event was organised by following Covid-19 protocols.

Those inducted include 20 cabinet ministers and eight ministers of state. Prominent among the new ministers are BJP MLAs Yashodhara Raje Scindia and Gopal Bhargava.

Chouhan took oath as chief minister for a record fourth term on March 23 this year, after Kamal Nath resigned from the post following rebellion by 22 MLAs of the Congress.

The initial "mini" expansion of the Chouhan cabinet took place on April 21 with the induction of five ministers, including two former Congress MLAs close to Scindia -- Tulsi Silawat and Govind Singh Rajput.


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.