Rajya Sabha
India  /  Published 08.07.20

Six-foot gap for MPs, not more than two witnesses

The Rajya Sabha secretariat has issued an eight-point protocol for MPs ahead of meetings of the standing committees on science and technology and home affairs on July 10 and 15. The protocol, which h...
By Our Bureau and Agencies in New Delhi

North East  /  Published 30.06.20

Manipur CM in Delhi to meet leaders

Manipur chief minister N. Biren Singh on Tuesday reached New Delhi to “discuss and finalise” issues related to his council of ministers after the central BJP leadership had last week broke...
By Our Special Correspondent in Guwahati

People  /  Published 27.06.20

Neil O'Brien: A son's heartfelt tribute

It was on this day four years ago that my father, Neil O’Brien, left for the Big Library in the Sky. As a man always surrounded by books – as an author, a publisher, an educationist, an un...
By Derek O’Brien in Calcutta

Jharkhand  /  Published 15.06.20

RS polls: JMM, BJP likely to make it, but not Congress

The coming Rajya Sabha elections in Jharkhand is, for a change, not in the news this time for horse-trading or arm-twisting of MLAs by the ruling dispensation.Even as three nominees are in the fray fo...
By Suman K Shrivastava in Ranchi

India  /  Published 14.06.20

Gowda in RS with Sonia help

Former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda has girded up for one more innings in Parliament, this time getting elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha with the help of the Congress.What seemed a distant dream...
By K.M. Rakesh in Bangalore

India  /  Published 13.06.20

Gujarat Cong seeks EC protection

A Congress MLA from Gujarat who has no criminal background has been summoned by police thrice this week for questioning in connection with a firing in his constituency where he was not even present.Gu...
By Our Special Correspondent in New Delhi

India  /  Published 08.06.20

At Sonia's request, Deve Gowda to contest RS polls

JD(S) patriarch H.D. Deve Gowda has decided to contest the June 19 Rajya Sabha elections from Karnataka, and will be filing his nominations on Tuesday, his son and former chief minister H.D. Kumaraswa...
By PTI in Bengaluru

India  /  Published 07.06.20

Congress seeks poaching shelter amid pandemic

The Congress on Sunday lodged over two dozen of its MLAs from Gujarat at a resort in Sirohi near Jodhpur in Rajasthan, fearing poaching by the BJP ahead of the election for four Rajya Sabha seats from...
By PTI in Jodhpur

Jharkhand  /  Published 05.06.20

Another Gujarat Congress MLA resigns ahead of RS polls

In a fresh jolt to the Congress ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls in Gujarat, its MLA Brijesh Merja on Friday resigned from the Assembly membership, becoming the third legislator of the Opposition party ...
By PTI in Ahmedabad

India  /  Published 05.06.20

Gujarat exits dash Congress Rajya Sabha hope

Two Congress MLAs in Gujarat resigned on Thursday, dashing the party’s hopes of getting two stalwarts — Bharatsinh Solanki and Shaktisinh Gohil — elected to the Rajya Sabha in polls scheduled on...
By Our Special Correspondent in New Delhi


Download our latest App

to get update on the go...


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.