Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Mamata releases TMC list for 42 West Bengal seats

She said 41% of the nominees in the list are women.

By PTI in Calcutta
  • Published 12.03.19, 6:58 PM
  • Updated 12.03.19, 6:58 PM
  • a min read
Mamata Banerjee shows the candidate list for Lok Sabha elections 2019, in Calcutta, on Tuesday. (PTI Photo)

Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced the list of TMC candidates for all 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs.

The Trinamul chief attacked the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Modi government, claiming she had information that “VVIPs” were using helicopters and chartered flights to transport money to bribe voters.

Releasing the list, she assailed the Union government over a host of issues including the Rafale deal, farm distress and shrinking employment opportunities.

Banerjee said the outgoing TMC lawmakers whose names do not figure in the list will be drafted for party work.

She said 41 per cent of the nominees in the list are women.

The TMC will also contest some seats in Odisha, Assam, Jharkhand, Bihar and the Andamans, she said.