Fresh Naga talks from July 30 - NSCN leaders in Delhi, 60 MLAs to meet central leaders in Aug.

Read more below

  • Published 26.07.12
Thuingaleng Muivah and Isak Chishi Swu

Kohima, July 25: The next round of talks between the Centre and the NSCN (Isak-Muivah) will be held on July 30 and August 1 and 3 in New Delhi.

This round of talks is expected to be crucial as the Centre appears to be in a hurry to ink an agreement with the NSCN led by Isak Chishi Swu and Thuingaleng Muivah before the Assembly elections slated for February 2013.

While a team of senior members of the NSCN led by Swu and Muivah are currently in New Delhi, another group of kilonsers (ministers) and top functionaries of the group went there yesterday. Sources said the Centre’s interlocutor, R.S. Pandey, would lead the government delegation during the talks.

NSCN (I-M) sources today said if an interim agreement could be worked out, it would be signed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Swu and Muivah.

Currently, the Centre and the NSCN (I-M) are discussing land and resources, interim period and decommissioning of weapons of over 15,000 Naga militants.

All the 60 Nagaland legislators will meet central leaders on August 7 and 8 in New Delhi to urge them to expedite the peace process and express their willingness to pave the way (step down) for any solution, which would be honourable and acceptable to the Naga people.

The team will meet the Prime Minister, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, home minister P. Chidambaram and other top central leaders.

The MLAs have already declared their commitment to pave the way, by declining their current positions if need be, for any alternative arrangement that may come about from a logical conclusion of the ongoing peace process. They have asked the Centre to expedite the talks and reach an honourable conclusion that would be acceptable to all sections of the Naga people.

An 18-member team of Joint Legislators Forum will also meet central leaders to seek a consensus on the Naga issue. Led by chief minister Neiphiu Rio and leader of the Opposition Tokheho Yepthomi, its other members include Speaker Kiyanielie Peseyie, home minister Imkong L. Imchen, urban development minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu, planning and coordination minister T.R. Zeliang, forest and environment minister M.C. Konyak, agriculture minister Chumbe Murry, health and family welfare minister Kuzholuzo Nienu, public health engineering minister P. Longon, roads and bridges minister G. Kaito Aye, PCC president and legislator S.I. Jamir and Congress legislators H. Chuba Chang and Hewoto Awomi.