Actors play phoenix at awards function - Gogoi appeals for donation at Prag ceremony to rebuild B. Borooah

Read more below

By Staff Reporter
  • Published 6.03.05

March 6: There was glamour. There was nostalgia. And then there were breathtaking performances by some of the most popular names in the world of showbiz in Assam. Yet, the Prag Cine Awards ceremony last night will be remembered for the Assamese filmdom launching the biggest public fund-raising drive to rebuild B. Borooah College.

Even chief minister Tarun Gogoi ? who made a brief appearance during the awards ceremony at the Nehru stadium ? made an appeal to the people to ?donate whatever you can so that our very own college rise once again?.

The Prag Cine awards, considered the biggest and most prestigious honour for those associated with Assamese cinema, was in fact dedicated to the B. Borooah College tragedy and a big banner on the stage said, ?Let?s help rebuild B. Borooah College?.

Veteran actor Biju Phukan launched the campaign from the stage with an appeal to contribute generously in the collection boxes, which will be placed in the affected college.

Leading names from the Assamese cine world were honoured at the second Prag Cine awards function. Veteran actor Jnanada Kakati, who was honoured with the Prag lifetime achievement award said, ?I feel honoured. It is a special night for me and it?s the love of the people which keeps me ticking.?

The award for the best actor (male) went to Jatin Bora for the film Kadambari and best actor (female) to Konki Bordoloi for Anuraag. The film Dinabandhu was adjudged the best film award and the most popular film award went to Kadambari.

The best choreographer was Jini Mahalia for Anuraag, best supporting actor (male) was Nipon Goswami for Kadambari and Anjali Daimary was the best supporting actress for Anuraag. The award for the best director went to Sanjib Sabhapandit for Juye Poora Soon and the best child artist was Jafreen for Laaz.

In the music category, Zubeen Garg received the award for the best male playback singer for his soulful rendition in Rong and Anindita Paul received the award for the best female singer for Dinabandhu. The award for the best music director went to Manas Rabin for Kadambari.

The best cinematographers was Mrinal Kanti Das and Suman Duarah for the film Anuraag. Munin Baruah bagged the award for the best screenplay for the film Dinabandhu while Manas Adhikari got the best editor award for Chakraview.

The star-studded show was enlivened by a fashion show, where both the new and the old generation of cinestars walked the ramp. The show was choreographed by designer Dipankar Kashyap.

The audience was taken on a trip down memory lane as veteran actors like Vidya Rao, Pranjal Saikia, Biju Phukan, Purnima Pathak Saikia danced to the tunes of hit numbers of yesteryears.