Home / Sports / EB announces 33-member squad for 2021-2022 Indian Super League

EB announces 33-member squad for 2021-2022 Indian Super League

SC East Bengal will take on Jamshedpur FC on November 21 to begin their campaign
East Bengal Club.
East Bengal Club.
File photo

Our Bureau   |   Calcutta   |   Published 09.11.21, 04:20 AM

SC East Bengal announced a 33-member squad for the 2021-2022 Indian Super League (ISL) on Monday.

“The squad has balance and a mix of youth and experience. We have players who have been there in the league from its inception. The foreign players have also played at the highest level and we believe the overall depth of this squad is good,” SC East Bengal head coach Jose Manuel Diaz, said.

SC East Bengal will take on Jamshedpur FC on November 21 to begin their campaign. They will have the services of ISL 2020-2021 golden glove winner Arindam Bhattacharya in goal this season. Arindam appeared for ATK Mohun Bagan last season.

The likes of India international Adil Khan will strengthen the defence with Raju Gaikwad adding experience to the backline after extending his stay. Former Perth Glory star defender and Australian centre-back Tomislav Mrcela will also marshal the troops from the back, supported by Croatian U-21 national team stopper Franjo Prce who was part of Italian Serie A side Lazio.

The midfield has been bolstered by India U-23 international Amarjit Singh Kiyam who will get support from Md Rafique, Jackichand Singh and Bikash Jairu.

Ajax youth academy product Darren Sidoel and Slovenian midfielder Dervisevic will also play important roles for the club, both having rubbed shoulders with some of the best in the business.

Nigerian striker Daniel Chima Chukwu, a three-time Norwegian first division league winner with Molde FK, will lead the attacking line.

The squad

⚫ Goalkeepers: Arindam Bhattacharya, Sankar Roy, Suvam Sen

⚫ Defenders: Daniel Gomes, Joyner Lourenco, Raju Gaikwad, Adil Khan, Hira Mondal, Ankit Mukherjee, Goutam Singh, Tomislav Mrcela, Franjo Prce, Sarineo Fernandes, Akashdeep Singh

⚫ Midfielders: Jackichand Singh, Sourav Das, Angousana Wahengbam, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Md Rafique, Lalrinliana Hnamte, Bikash Jairu, Amir Dervisevic, Darren Sidoel, Romeo Fernandes, Songpu Singsit, Loken Metei

⚫ Forwards: Balwant Singh, Thongkhosiem Haokip, Naorem Mahesh, Siddhant Shirodkar, Daniel Chima Chukwu, Antonio Perosevic, Subha Ghosh

Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.