regular-article-logo Monday, 15 April 2024

ICC Men's cricket World Cup 2023: Dutch face stern test after New Zealand's high-flying start

The Kiwis played the competition opener on Thursday against defending champions England, pummelling the 2019 champions by nine wickets

Our Web Desk Hyderabad Published 09.10.23, 11:40 AM
New Zealand opener Will Young plays a shot during New Zealand vs Netherlands Match in Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

New Zealand opener Will Young plays a shot during New Zealand vs Netherlands Match in Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad PTI

  • Scorecard: New Zealand: Devon Conway c Bas de Leede b van der Merwe 32 Will Young c Bas de Leede b van Meekeren 70 Rachin Ravindra c Edwards b van der Merwe 51 Daryl Mitchell b van Meekeren 48 Tom Latham st Edwards b Aryan Dutt 53 Glenn Phillips c Edwards b Bas de Leede 4 Mark Chapman c van der Merwe b Aryan Dutt 5 Mitchell Santner not out 36 Matt Henry not out10 Extras: (LB-3, W-8,NB-2) 13 Total: (For 7 wickets in 50 Overs) 322 Fall of wickets: 1-67, 2-144, 3-185, 4-238, 5-247, 6-254, 7-293 Bowling: Aryan Dutt 10-2-62-2, Ryan Klein 7-1-41-0, Paul van Meekeren 9-0-59-2, Roelof van der Merwe 9-0-56-2, Colin Ackermann 4-0-28-0, Bas de Leede 10-0-64-1, Vikramjit Singh 1-0-9-0.
  • New Zealand concludes innings at 322/7 in 50 overs, Latham and Santner's partnership sets up a formidable finish against the Netherlands.
  • Tom Latham's valiant innings ends at 53, propelling New Zealand to 301/7 in 49 overs
  • Glenn Phillips departs after a caught out by Edwards, New Zealand's fifth wicket falls at 248/5 in 42 overs.
  • Daryll Mitchell departs as New Zealand sets score 246/4 in 41 overs.
  • New Zealand lose their third wicket as Rachin Ravindra departs at 50. Kiwi skipper Tom Latham joins set Daryll Mitchell (28* of 29 balls) on the crease. NZ 192/3 in 34 overs.
  • Rachin Ravindra hits 50! Consecutive half centuries for the New Zealand top order batsman in World Cup 2023. New Zealand score 185/2 after 32.1 overs.
  • New Zealand lose their second wicket as Will Young departs at 70. Kiwis are holding steady at 163/2 in 29 overs as Netherlands desperately look for some breakthroughs.
  • Opener Devon Conway departs as van der Merwe claims first wicket for Netherlands; New Zealand reach 90/1 after 17 overs. Rachin Ravindra comes in at Number 3.
  • New Zealand openers Devon Conway and Will Young showcase a stellar partnership, propelling NZ to a solid 67/0 after 12 overs with a brilliant fifty-run opening stand.
  • New Zealand Team: Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (w/c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.
  • Netherlands Team: Vikramjit Singh, Max O'Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards (w/c), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Roelof van der Merwe, Ryan Klein, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren.
  • New Zealand is set to play Lockie Ferguson in today's game, providing a formidable edge to their bowling attack as Jimmy Neesam is not in the playing XI. Kane Williamson remains sidelined due to an ongoing injury.
  • Netherlands captain Scot Edwards has won the toss and opted to bowl first, looking to put New Zealand under early pressure. Edwards seems confident in his team's ability to chase a target as Netherlands have made two changes to their lineup.

Having already played their opening encounters in the ongoing Cricket World Cup, it is time for New Zealand and the Netherlands to venture deep into the tournament, as they face each other here on Monday.


The Kiwis played the competition opener on Thursday against defending champions England, pummelling the 2019 champions by nine wickets and once again showing the intent to go deep into the tournament.

Although England posted a decent 282 for the loss of nine wickets, the New Zealanders chased down the target in 36.2 overs, thanks to Devon Conway (152 not out) and Rachin Ravindra (123 not out) playing blazing innings.

New Zealand achieved the win without their regular skipper Kane Williamson, who is yet to regain match fitness having nursed an ACL injury he suffered during the IPL earlier this year.

Tom Latham, who led the side against the Three Lions, will continue wearing the captain's band on Monday as well after Kiwi head coach Gary Stead indicated Williamson is still not fully match-fit to feature against the Dutch.

"Kane's also been progressing very well -- I think the fielding is still the element for him that he's just got to get a little bit higher and get a little more trust in his body," said Stead on Sunday.

"But he is progressing really well, and we are pretty confident he will be playing the third match for us. We have got another training to get through today, so we will finalise the team once we have got through that training. At this stage with Kane, we are looking like the third game is when he will start the tournament," he added.

While veteran pacer Tim Southee's inclusion in the team also looks unlikely, as he is recovering from a broken and dislocated thumb, fellow speedster Lockie Ferguson should be available provided he clears the fitness test on Sunday.

As for the Dutch, they were in a tough encounter against Pakistan on Friday, which the latter won by 81 runs.

However, the Dutch did have their moments in the match, especially early on in the contest as they managed to get rid of three Pakistani batters in powerplay.

Also, with the bat, opener Vikramjit Singh (52) and Bas de Leede (67) gave a strong fight-back but still fell short.

While the Dutch bowling seems sorted, it is their batting that needs more consistency, especially in the middle order. Skipper Scott Edwards is yet to touch the 30-run mark in the last four ODIs.

The two sides have met on four occasions in the format so far, with New Zealand winning all the matches.


Netherlands: Scott Edwards (c/w), Colin Ackermann, Wesley Barresi, Bas de Leede, Aryan Dutt, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Ryan Klein, Teja Nidamanuru, Max O'Dowd, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, Vikramjit Singh.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Latham, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (w), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young.

Match starts: 2:00 pm.

Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by The Telegraph Online staff and has been published from a syndicated feed.

Follow us on: