regular-article-logo Monday, 02 October 2023

NE poll results: BJP leads in Tripura and Nagaland, NPP ahead in Meghalaya

The Tipra Motha, led by former royal Pradyot Debbarma, leading in 8-12 seats; ruling NPP in Meghalaya leading in three seats, while Opposition TMC is ahead in two

Our Web Desk Published 02.03.23, 08:16 AM
Poll officials sort postal ballots to begin the counting of votes for the Assembly elections at a centre, in Agartala.

Poll officials sort postal ballots to begin the counting of votes for the Assembly elections at a centre, in Agartala. PTI

  • Leads at 10:45 am: Conrad Sangma's party ahead in Meghalaya (23/59), BJP+ leads in Nagaland (40/60), Tripura (31/60), according to NDTV


  • So far BJP+ leads 32 seats, Left+ 15, Tipra Motha 12 and Others 1
  • Chief Minister Manik Saha was leading in the Town Bardowali seat over his nearest Congress rival Ashish Kumar Saha by 344 votes
  • Senior Congress leader Sudip Roy Barman was ahead of BJP's Papia Dutta by 1,670 votes
  • BJP state president Rajib Bhattacharjee was trailing by over 300 votes in the Banamalipur seat as Congress candidate Gopal Roy took a lead
  • In the Khayerpur seat, CPI(M)'s Pabitra Kar was leading by around 3,000 votes over assembly speaker Ratan Chakraborty of the BJP
  • CPI(M) state secretary Jitendra Chowdhury was leading by 660 votes against BJP's incumbent MLA Sankar Roy in the Sabroom constituency
  • The ruling BJP-IPFT alliance in Tripura was ahead of the opposition Left-Congress, according to early trends on TV channels. The BJP-IPFT alliance was ahead in 25-36 seats, while the Left-Congress alliance was leading in 11-23 seats, reports PTI
  • The Tipra Motha, led by former royal Pradyot Debbarma, was also leading in 8-12 seats, early trends showed, reports PTI

Counting of votes begins for 60 seats in Tripura.

A triangular contest is being witnessed between the alliances of BJP-IPFT, and Left Front-Congress, and Tipra Motha, a new outfit floated by former royal scion Pradyot Manikya Debbarma.

A total of 25,000 security personnel have been deployed in Tripura to maintain law and order.

"Prohibitory orders under Section 144 of CrPC have been clamped across the state from 6 pm on March 1 to 6 am on March 3 to prevent any untoward incident, but essential services and examinees have been kept out of its purview," Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Gitte Kirankumar Dinakarrao said.

A total of 89.98 per cent of 28.12 lakh voters exercised their franchise during polling on February 16.

"Counting of votes is taking place at 21 locations. There will be around five to eight rounds of counting. The trends are expected to be clear around noon," he said.

Security personnel conducted flag marches in different areas of Agartala as a confidence-building measure.

As many as 259 candidates of different political parties are in the fray.

Chief Minister Manik Saha is contesting from Town Bardowali constituency, while Union minister Pratima Bhowmik is fighting from Dhanpur constituency in Sepahijala district. CPI(M) state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury is contesting from Sabroom seat.

For the first time, the Left Front is contesting assembly elections with its erstwhile arch rival Congress.

In the 2018 assembly elections, the BJP won 36 seats, while its ally IPFT bagged 18 constituencies. The CPI(M)-led Left Front emerged victorious in 16 seats, while the Congress drew a blank.


  • So far NDPP+ leads 39 seats, NPF 5, Congress 1 and Others 15
  • Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio was leading in the Northern Angami II seat over his nearest rival Seyievilie Sachu of the Indian National Congress by over 3,709 votes, reports PTI
  • The ruling NDPP-BJP alliance seems to be marching ahead to power in Nagaland as per early trends of the state Assembly elections. The trends in television channels indicate that the NDPP-BJP was ahead in more than 40 seats while the NPF had taken an early lead in six seats, reports PTI
  • The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and BJP had a pre-poll alliance and contested the elections on a 40:20 seat sharing basis, reports PTI

Counting of votes has also begun for 59 assembly seats in Nagaland.

As many as 183 candidates – 164 from 12 political parties, including four women nominees and 19 Independent aspirants are in the fray.

Elections were held for 59 Assembly seats on February 27. The Akuluto seat has been won uncontested by BJP nominee Kazheto Kinimi.

Counting of votes started at 8 am with postal ballots after which counting of EVMs will be taken up.

The counting is being done under 3-tier security provided by the state and Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) in 16 counting centres.

The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and BJP are the only political parties that contested the polls on a 40:20 seat sharing basis.

Naga Peoples' Front (NPF) contested 22 seats and the Congress which ruled the state till 2003 and does not have any member in the current house contested in 23 seats.


  • So far NPP leads 21 seats, TMC 7, BJP 8 and UDP 8
  • Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma was leading in the South Tura seat with a margin of just 44 votes over his nearest rival Bernard N Marak of the BJP, reports PTI
  • State Congress president Vincent H Pala was trailing by 1,257 votes in the Sutnga Saipung seat against NPP's Santa Mary Shylla
  • Leader of opposition Mukul Sangma of the TMC was leading from the Songsak seat by 457 votes over NPP's ND Shira
  • The ruling NPP in Meghalaya was leading in three seats each, while the opposition TMC was ahead in two, reports PTI
  • The GNC and the United Democratic Party (UDP) were also ahead in one seat each, reports PTI

Counting of votes began in Meghalaya at 8 am on Thursday amid tight security, a senior election official said.

Votes polled in 59 of the 60 assembly constituencies of the state on February 27 are being counted at 13 centres across the state. Polling in Sohiong seat was adjourned due to the death of a candidate.

Twenty-two companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed to guard the counting centres, Chief Electoral Officer F R Kharkongor told PTI.

Exit polls have predicted a hung assembly in Meghalaya, as ruling National People's Party (NPP) is believed to have been holding parleys with the BJP for a possible post-poll alliance.

The CEO said that 14 counting halls have been arranged in Shillong and 11 in Tura. Over 500 observers have been deployed across the state. The Election Commission has banned victory processions till 4 pm on March 4.

Follow us on: