Go back to
Home » My Kolkata » News » All about Republic Day schedule and curbs

Traffic Restrictions

All about Republic Day schedule and curbs

The Telegraph gives a lowdown of the schedule for the day

Our Bureau | Published 26.01.23, 08:27 AM
Representational file image

Representational file image

Red Road will be closed to vehicles for the Republic Day parade till around 1pm on Thursday.

Governor C.V. Ananda Bose, chief minister Mamata Banerjee, senior officers of the army's eastern command and senior representatives of the state administration and Kolkata police are expected to attend the parade.


Arrival of chief minister: Mamata Banerjee is scheduled to arrive at the parade venue at 10.30am.

Unfurling of the national flag: The governor is scheduled to unfurl the Tricolour at 10.35am.

Parade: The Republic Day parade is scheduled to be held from 10.36am till 11am. The parade will be followed by a cultural programme.

Traffic restrictions: Vehicles will not be allowed on Hospital Road, Lovers Lane, Casuarina Avenue, Kidderpore Road, Rani Rashmoni Avenue, Kingsway, Queensway, Plassey Gate Road, Dufferin Road, Outram Road, Chowringhee Road and Government Place (West) from 5.30am till around 1pm.

Traffic diversions: Vehicles will be diverted through RR Avenue, JL Nehru Road, Kingsway, Strand Road, AJC Bose Road-JL Nehru Road crossing, St Georges Gate Road-Strand Road crossing, Cathedral Road-JL Nehru Road crossing, Auckland Road, Government Place (East) and Bentinck Street-JL Nehru Road crossing, police said.

Police arrangements: Around 1,000 cops will be deployed on Red Road and adjoining areas during the parade on Thursday.  There will be 10 sand bunkers and 51 patrol vans, 13 quick response teams and 10 watch towers on and around Red Road.  Dry day: Sale and serving of liquor will be restricted at shops, bars, restaurants and hotels less than three star. 

Metro: Metro Railway will run a curtailed fleet on Republic Day. On the north-south corridor, the carrier will run 188 trains. The first and last trains will leave Dakshineswar at 7am and 9.28pm. The first and last trains will leave Dum Dum at 6.50am and 9.40pm. From New Garia, the first train will leave at 6.50 am. The last Dakshineswar-bound train will leave New Garia at 9.30pm. At 9.40pm, the last DumDum-bound train will leave the station. Ninety trains will run on the east-west corridor, between Sealdah and Sector V, from 6.55pm to 10pm. No train will run on the Joka-Taratalastretch, an official said.

Weather: The weather is likely to remain warm

Last updated on 26.01.23, 11:27 AM

More from My Kolkata