regular-article-logo Thursday, 29 February 2024

JP Nadda constitutes four-member committee to probe Bihar police lathicharge on protest march in Patna

Probe panel will visit Patna very soon and submit a report to our national president, says Arun Singh

Dev Raj Patna Published 15.07.23, 04:47 AM
JP Nadda.

JP Nadda. File photo

BJP national president J.P. Nadda on Friday constituted a four-member committee to probe the police lathicharge on a protest march in Patna on Thursday in which a party leader was allegedly killed and several others were seriously injured.

Former Jharkhand chief minister Raghubar Das is the convener of the panel while three Lok Sabha members — actor and singer Manoj Tiwary (Delhi northeast constituency), former Jharkhand DGP Vishnu Dayal Ram (Palamau, Jharkhand) and Sunita Duggal (Sirsa, Haryana) — are part of it.


“The probe panel will visit Patna very soon and submit a report to our nationalpresident,” BJP national general secretary and headquarters in-charge Arun Singh said.

The Bihar government, on the other hand, has registered an FIR against 59 senior BJP leaders and 100 unknown party workers for entering the areas prohibited for protest marches in Patna, creating mayhem, stone pelting, attacking the police personnel, and obstructing the government officials from discharging their duty.

The FIR was registered at the Kotwali police station in the state capital on Friday and it includes the names of BJP state president Samrat Choudhary, leader of the Opposition in the Assembly Vijay Kumar Sinha, BJP national spokesperson Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, former deputy chief ministers Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi, Lok Sabha members Sushil Kumar Singh and Ram Kripal Yadav, and several others.

Jehanabad district general secretary Vijay Kumar Singh allegedly succumbed to injuries suffered during the lathicharge in Patna on Thursday.

Follow us on: