Home / West-bengal / Mamata Banerjee to take oath today

Mamata Banerjee to take oath today

According to sources, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Biman Bose, Abdul Mannan, Adhir Chowdhury, Dilip Ghosh and Manoj Tigga to be invited for the swearing-in
Mamata Banerjee

Our Special Correspondent   |   Calcutta   |   Published 05.05.21, 01:27 AM

Mamata Banerjee will take oath as the chief minister of Bengal for the third consecutive term at the Raj Bhavan here at 10.45am on Wednesday.

Sources said the swearing-in would be a small ceremony which was likely to be attended by a limited number of invitees.

“Only the chief minister is likely to take oath on Wednesday and members of her cabinet would be sworn in either later this week or early next week. All Covid-19 protocols will be followed during the programme,” said a source.

According to sources, former chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, CPM leader Biman Bose, Congress leaders like Abdul Mannan and Adhir Chowdhury and BJP leaders Dilip Ghosh and Manoj Tigga would be invited to attend Mamata’s swearing-in.

After the inauguration, the chief minister is scheduled to leave for Nabanna where senior government officials will welcome her at the portico of the 15-storey state secretariat.

The sources said Mamata might hold a meeting with senior government officials on the Covid-19 situation in the state.

“The chief minister announced that her priority would be to contain the spread of the novel coronavirus. The chief minister is likely to take some decisions and measures to handle the situation firmly,” said a senior official.


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.