The Modi spell on Coal Belt

Read more below

By Praduman Choubey
  • Published 24.12.14

BJP's Jharia candidate Sanjiv Singh is all smiles after his victory on Tuesday. Picture by Gautam Dey

Dhanbad, Dec. 23: It was Modi magic all the way in five of the six constituencies of Dhanbad. While the BJP bagged Dhanbad, Jharia, Sindri and Baghmara, ally Ajsu won Tundi.

The lotus party, which had Jharia in its kitty earlier, gained Dhanbad, Baghmara and Sindri. Raj Sinha not just paid back Mannan Mallick for his 902-vote defeat in the 2009 Assembly elections, but also hurled a humiliating margin of nearly 53,000 at the Congress heavyweight. Dhullu Mahto polled over 86,000 votes in Baghmara to send home JDU's Jaleshwar Mahto and Phulchand Mandal notched 58,000-plus in Sindri to scrape a victory against MCC's four-time MLA Anand Mahto.

In Jharia, it was the third consecutive win for the BJP as Singh mansion scion Sanjiv defeated his cousin and Congress candidate Niraj by a convincing margin of 33,692.

Tundi saw a close shave for ally Ajsu's candidate Raj Kishore Mahto who defeated JMM's sitting MLA Mathura Prasad Mahto by 1,131 votes. Raj Kishore is the son of JMM founder Vinod Bihari Mahto.

The only constituency where the Modi spell failed to work was Nirsa. Sitting MLA of MCC Arup Chatterjee retained the seat, albeit by a narrow margin of 1,035 votes against BJP nominee Ganesh Mishra.

Dhanbad's new MLA Sinha said the aam aadmi had ratified the development agenda of the Narendra Modi government. "Now, we have the responsibility of developing Jharkhand based on the central module," he said.

In Bokaro district, BJP won Bermo and Bokaro, but lost in Gomia. Ajsu had to forfeit Chandankyari.