Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Remap steel city: CM

DC, Tatas told to jointly demarcate industrial township

By Our Special Correspondent in Jamshedpur
  • Published 1.11.18, 5:33 PM
  • Updated 18.12.18, 5:09 PM
  • a min read
Raghubar Das Agencies

Chief minister Raghubar Das on Wednesday asked the East Singhbhum administration and Tata Steel to jointly demarcate areas for the proposed municipal corporation and industrial township.

Presiding over a review meeting in Ranchi, Das asked deputy commissioner Amit Kumar to take stakeholders into confidence while compiling the list of areas. He stressed that service charges for various civic amenities should also be applicable in an industrial township.

The meeting was attended by urban development minister C.P. Singh, state chief secretary Sudhir Tripathi, principal secretary to CM Sunil Kumar Barnwal, additional chief secretary Sukhdeo Singh, urban development secretary Ajay Ku-mar Singh, land revenue secretary K.K. Soan and Tata Steel vice-president (corporate services) Sunil Bhaskaran, among others.

“We will adhere to the orders,” DC Kumar, who was not physically present in Ranchi, said here and added that a final decision on demarcation of areas would however be taken by the government.

The move to form a Jamshedpur Municipal Corporation gained momentum after the Supreme Court in December 2016 disposed of a case on the industrial township status after Tata Steel and the state government reached an agreement on the issue.

Earlier this year, DC Kumar following a series of meetings with Tata Steel and Jamshedpur Notified Area Committee had submitted a draft excluding Kadma, Sonari, Golmuri, Sakchi and all market areas (except Bistupur) from the proposed industrial township. These areas have so long been enjoying urban amenities provided by Jusco (Tata Steel’s utility wing).

According to the draft, the industrial township will only comprise worksite of Tata Steel and allied companies, residential areas of company employees and the Bistupur residential area and market.

The corporation will cater to nearly 10 lakh population, divided into three broad zones: eastern (Birsanagar, Golmuri, Bagunhatu, Bagunnagar), western (Sonari, Kadma, Shastrinagar and Rani-kudar) and central (Sakchi, Kasidih, Rajendra Nagar, Baradwari).