Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Will defer bypolls to 15 Karnataka Assembly seats, EC tells top court

The lawyers appearing for the disqualified MLAs said they had no objection if the bypolls were deferred

By PTI in New Delhi
  • Published 26.09.19, 4:55 PM
  • Updated 26.09.19, 4:55 PM
  • a min read
Supreme Court of India (PTI photo)

The Election Commission on Thursday told the Supreme Court that it would defer the bypolls to 15 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka.

The statement by the EC's council came after a three-judge bench headed by Justice N.V. Ramana said that it would decide on the batch of petitions filed by 17 disqualified MLAs of Karnataka challenging the order of former Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar disqualifying them from the House.

After the bench, also comprising Justices Sanjiv Khanna and Krishna Murari, said that it would hear the matter completely and decide it, senior advocate Rakesh Dwivedi, appearing for the poll panel, said: “Then I will ask the Election Commission to defer it (bypolls for 15 Assembly seats in Karnataka) for sometime.”

When the bench asked Dwivedi on whether his statement should be recorded in the order, the senior lawyer said: “We will do it.”

The lawyers appearing for the disqualified MLAs, Congress leader Siddaramaiah and other respondents said they had no objection if the bypolls were deferred.

The top court said it would continue to conduct hearings in the case on October 22.