Home / India / CJI administers oath of office to nine new SC judges

CJI administers oath of office to nine new SC judges

With the swearing-in, the strength of the apex court rose to 33
Supreme Court of India

Our Bureau, PTI   |   New Delhi   |   Published 31.08.21, 11:27 AM

Chief Justice of India (CJI) N V Ramana on Tuesday administered oath of office to nine new judges, including three women, of the Supreme Court.

The CJI started the swearing-in by administering oath of office to Justice Abhay Shreeniwas Oka.


With the swearing-in of the nine new judges, the strength of the Supreme Court rose to 33, including the CJI, out of the sanctioned strength of 34.

The nine new judges who were administered oath of office as apex court judges include Justice Vikram Nath, Justice Jitendra Kumar Maheshwari, Justice Hima Kohli and Justice B V Nagarathna.

Besides them, Justice C T Ravikumar, Justice M M Sundresh, Justice Bela M Trivedi and senior advocate and former Additional Solicitor General P S Narasimha were also administered oath of office by the CJI.

Justice Nagarathna, the daughter of former CJI E S Venkataramiah, is in line to become the first woman CJI in September 2027.

Mobile Article Page Banner
Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.