Home / India / Mizoram Assembly election: Seats to watch

Mizoram Assembly election: Seats to watch

Will Lal Thanhawla be third-time lucky?

The Telegraph   |   New Delhi   |   Published 11.12.18, 04:33 AM

Serchip and Champai South

The 76-year-old Lal Thanhawla, the outgoing chief minister from the Congress, has contested both the seats. He has been the chief minister five times and is looking to secure his position in the seat for the third consecutive time. He is expected to win both the seats. 


Serchip will be the key battleground where Lal Thanhawla is up against Lalduhoma, the chief ministerial choice of the Zoram People’s Movement. If the Congress loses Mizoram, it will be left with no state to rule from in the Northeast.

Aizawl East -1 

This is the seat of Zoramthanga, the two-time chief minister who heads the Mizo National Front. The MNF has promised to bring massive changes in Mizoram's development if it wins. It has also promised to reinstate prohibition in the state. 

Serchip and Aizawl West-1

The Zoram People's Movement is a pre-poll electoral conglomerate by various parties. The 69-year-old Lalduhoma  is a former IPS officer who is the ZPM's face in both the seats. Lalduhoma is also the founder and president of the Zoram Nationalist Party and is confident he will win both seats.

Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.