regular-article-logo Friday, 19 July 2024

Meghalaya: 60 sitting MLAs among 334 candidates for assembly polls

Tuesday is the last day for filing nomination papers

PTI Shillong Published 07.02.23, 10:20 PM
Representational image.

Representational image. File Photo.

Meghalaya Chief Electoral Officer FR Kharkongor on Tuesday said a total of 334 candidates have filed their nominations for the February 27 election to the 60-member assembly in the state.

Tuesday is the last day for filing nomination papers.


All 60 sitting MLAs including Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh and Leader of the Opposition Mukul Sangma submitted their nomination papers seeking re-election.

Conrad Sangma, who is the president of the National People's Party, will contest from his old constituency South Tura constituency in West Garo Hills district.

Metbah, the United Democratic Party chief, is seeking re-election from Mairang constituency in Eastern West Khasi Hills district.

Former chief minister Mukul Sangma, who was elected as a Congress candidate in the 2018 election, is contesting as a Trinamool Congress nominee, from two seats – Songsak and Tikrikilla in East Garo Hills and West Garo Hills districts respectively.

BJP MLAs Sanbor Shullai and AL Hek are also seeking re-election from South Shillong and Pynthorumkhrah constituencies in the state capital here, Kharkongor said.

Congress MP Vincent H Pala, who is also the state party president, has also filed his nomination papers from Sutnga-Saipung constituency in East Jaintia Hills district.

Regional party leaders Banteidor Lyngdoh of the People's Democratic Front (PDP), Ardent Basaiawmoit of the Voice of the People, Martle Mukhim of the Hills State People's Democratic Party (HSPDP) are among those who filed their nomination papers, the CEO said.

The nomination papers and relevant documents will be scrutinised on Wednesday, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is February 10.

Votes will be counted on March 2.

Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by The Telegraph Online staff and has been published from a syndicated feed.

Follow us on: