regular-article-logo Tuesday, 16 April 2024

Days ahead of first phase of polls, EC removes IAS, IPS officers in Bengal

Jhargram DM Ayesha Rani replaced by Joyeshi Dasgupta

Our Bureau, Agencies Calcutta Published 25.03.21, 05:21 PM
Jhargram will be voting in the first phase on March 27.

Jhargram will be voting in the first phase on March 27. File picture

An IAS and four IPS officers in Bengal were removed on Thursday by the Election Commission, two days ahead of the first phase of polling, officials said.

Additional Director-General (West Zone) Sanjay Singh was replaced by Rajesh Kumar, as per an official order.


District Magistrate and District Election Officer of Jhargram Ayesha Rani was replaced by Joyeshi Dasgupta, it said.

Jhargram will be voting in the first phase on March 27.

The EC has decided to deploy 127 companies of central forces for booth management in this district, officials said.

Arijit Sinha was named the new Superintendent of Police of Diamond Harbour, replacing Avijit Banerji, the order said.

Debashish Dhar was named the new SP of Coochbehar, replacing K Kannan.

Weeks ago, the poll commission ordered removal of Virendra as the Director General of Police of poll-bound Bengal with immediate effect, and appointed P Nirajnayan in his place.

The move had come in the wake of several political parties complaining to the Election Commission, alleging that Virendra was inclined towards the ruling Trinamul Congress, sources said.

The Election Commission had also removed Jawed Shamim from the post of ADG (Law and Order) of Bengal and replaced him with Jagmohan.

Follow us on: